Day 18: Ellenbrae to Gibb River - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2022

Day 18: Ellenbrae to Gibb River

I toyed with the idea of leaving before they started cooking the scones at 8am but then decided to stop kidding myself. 

Instead I went to look at the waterhole just behind the camp site
Heart 1 Comment 0
Then lined up at 8am for two scones and an iced coffee frappe
Heart 2 Comment 0

It is tough on these isolated WA roads. Actually I felt a little ill after eating all of that but it kept me going for a good 40ks. 

As I was making my way back out the driveway, an APT tour bus stopped and a woman got out and said “are you Clare?”. They had been talking to Davin at Doon Doon a few days ago and he’d told them to look out for me. 

They took that to mean, give me food. Thanks Davin!
Heart 4 Comment 0

I passed the grader working about 10k west of Ellenbrae so the road was significantly rougher than yesterday. The road passed through a low range of red stony hills which made good views when I wasn’t watching the corrugations. 

View from the top of a sealed jump up
Heart 2 Comment 0

After the range, it was soon time for lunch at Russ creek. I say these names like they’re land marks, actually this was a fairly unremarkable creek but I had it marked on the map as a potential campsite cause Vince camped here.

Not as nice as yesterday’s lunch spot where I did not take a photo
Heart 1 Comment 0

I saw a black snake go slithering into a bush not far from where I was sitting. I find it hard not to stop for at least an hour but I was trying to push on. The road was alright leading along a spur for a good while until about 15k to the Kalumburu turn off when the road dropped down.

I took a photo cause I thought it was a scenic descent, turned out to be a roughly 40k floodplain of corrugations down there
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a slog along a sandy, corrugated floodplain down the bottom but was at least quite shady and greener than before. I’m not sure if the country is changing or it has burnt more recently.

I let some air out of my tyres after I got stuck in a sandy side and that helped a bit. I was still very glad to see the Kalumburu turnoff. It’s a big rest area and no one was there except a stockman in a ute waiting for a truck from Derby. Some people in the wyndham caravan park told me they camped at the Gibb River. I thought it was 5k down the Kalumburu Road and wasn’t sure I could be bothered but i checked on my GPS and it was only 3. That is a primary school cross country so I decided I could make it. The road was actually alright as well and there was a caravan convention/swimming carnival happening at the river when I arrived. I was very glad I’d made the effort to ride in as I had a cooling swim in the deep water. I camped next to a family who had turned into Ellenbrae as I was leaving this morning and were very impressed. They offered me dinner but, for starters they were cooking chicken, and I had some capsicum and carrot to use up as my last fresh food from Kununurra. Someone was streaming an AFL game on the other side of the river but I did not investigate. Two big days on the Gibb had done me in.

 

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 1,177 km (731 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0