Day 3 - ending near Parsons, KS - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2016

Day 3 - ending near Parsons, KS

Posted via email Wed Aug 17 09:51:02 2016 PDT

My smartphone alarm woke me up at 5:00am. Made coffee with the room's one-cup maker, then on to writing the report. Got that done, and packed up. Outside after 9:00am, where I met the motel owner. He offered me milk and cereal for breakfast, but I told him I was looking for bacon and eggs.

Took off at 9:18am, looking for a restaurant. The Lighthouse Cafe here in Columbus is no longer in business. Apparently, it has been replaced by a bar and grill. After some riding around, I found a place east of the courthouse - Zack's Cafe. Had their Hamburger Steak breakfast with pancake. Just right. Afterwards, I checked out the park a block south, then headed north on Kansas Avenue to US-160 at 10:38am. In 2013, I saw a fair amount of water in the ditch south of the highway. More weeds than water this year.

Ten minutes west on the highway brought me to 20th Street, and the start of my diversion. Today's destination is the campground at Lake Parsons. But first, I want to see Big Brutus - the world's largest electric shovel.

A perfect day - full sun, nice breeze, flat gravel roads - just where I want to be. At 11:46am, I stopped to call my wife. Got to talk with my father-in-law also, who had stopped by there. It was noon when we were done talking.

Noon mileage report: 7.8 miles.

Made it to Big Brutus at 1:00pm. Paid the $8 admission fee, and got a sheet with information for a self-guided tour. There is a museum here also, dedicated to mining machines and mine workers. With a self-imposed one hour here, I wasn't able to check out all the interesting displays.

On to my tour. Here are just a few facts I found interesting. Shovel used for removing dirt that was on top of coal - didn't dig coal. Incoming power was 7,200 volts, 3-phase. Maximum speed was 0.22 mph. Three man crew: Operator, Groundman, Oiler. Operated 24 hours a day for 11 years, ending in April 1974.

My hour was up, but I went over to the 1920 Page dragline anyway. There is a Cat engine inside it.

Finally back at the museum, I bought an 85-cent Dr Pepper, then headed out at 2:43pm.

A mile south of US-400, I turned west, to avoid road work I knew was on that highway. Then I came to road work on this road, so decided to try the highway. That worked out OK. Both ways, traffic was in bunches, then nothing, so I figured there were control lights somewhere. Nice, wide shoulder here also.

At 5:11pm, I made a turn to get to downtown Parsons. US-400 was a more direct way to the lake, but I figured I'd better eat a good supper. At 5:44pm, I came to a place I've never heard of before - Braum's. Inside was a combination fast food place, ice cream parlor, and grocery store. And here's where I made a big mistake. I ordered too much! A 1/3-pound bacon cheeseburger, chili, and medium shake sounded OK, but I didn't realize the chili would be a 1-pint serving! I knew I'd have to eat slowly, and I did. When the shake was about done, I ordered a root beer to keep the meal in balance. An hour later, there was nothing left but crackers. My wife has suggested several times that lots of smaller meals during the day would be better than one large meal. She might be right.

Back on the bike at 7:07pm, for a slow ride west through Parsons. Later, made my way north to the lake. It was getting dark on me again! Arrived at the campground entrance at 8:43pm. Some riding around looking for the camp host, who wasn't initially at home. Found a spot at 8:58pm, and starting setting up. The camp host showed up a little later. He and his wife had been to church, where they both help with an addiction recovery program. I enjoyed talking with him, and he didn't take up too much time.

Got started on report picture selection, but fell asleep. Woke up a little later, and decided I just needed to go to bed, which I did, at 11:45pm.

Jeff

Spent: $11.92 plus $2.50 (breakfast) + $8 (tour fee) + $10 (Big Brutus paint donation) + $0.85 (Dr Pepper) + $13.18 (supper) + $5 (campsite) = $51.45.

Day 3 - Columbus, KS to Parsons, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ Budget Inn room 32, Columbus, KS - August 16, 2016 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ an earlier time: Budget Inn room 34, Columbus, KS - May 30, 2013 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ view of Cherokee County Courthouse from park southeast of there - Columbus, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
looking west from N. Kansas Avenue, Columbus, KS - August 16, 2016
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ an earlier time: looking west from N. Kansas Avenue, Columbus, KS - May 30, 2013 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ starting my diversion - NW 20th Street, Cherokee County, KS +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ map of where to find coal - Big Brutus Visitors Center, West Mineral, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Cat engine inside Page dragline - Big Brutus Visitors Center, West Mineral, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ view from operator position of Page dragline - Big Brutus Visitors Center, West Mineral, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Braum's 'Fresh Market' section - Parsons, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ an entrance arch - Parsons, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ it's getting late - Kiowa Road, Labette County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 139 miles (224 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0