Happy Fourth of July: And Kim's dad's 82nd birthday - Summer Adventure 2011 - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2011

Happy Fourth of July: And Kim's dad's 82nd birthday

Kim writes:

Happy birthday, Dad....AKA Mr. Wood!

Algoma history. Just love fishing villages!
Heart 0 Comment 0

As John mentions below, we rode uphill quite a bit today. It brought to mind, however, what cyclist Peter V. (warmshower guest from Holland) told me back in 2009 (something to this effect) -- with uphill, at least you get a downhill but when you have a headwind, you don't get any relief. Today's downhills were fun, and one time we even taxed our brakes more than ever. Now I understand why people decide to take spare brake pads on some tours.

Okay, on the song themes....I didn't expect them to be so common in my writing, but they are. On my tour back in 2008, while at the National Park Service campground in Okracoke Island (NC) a lady asked me, "What do you think about while you're riding?" After pausing for a few seconds, my answer was, "I'm not sure." That was about three weeks into my trip and I had been mostly trying to let my mind relax. But this time, I'm trying to remember my thoughts for the day, and most often they often turn out to be song lyrics. Go figure.

Since I got up with the birds (0430 CDT) and walked over to the shoreline to capture some sunrise (about 0500 CDT) photos and moments, and since yesterday had a Cat Stevens song, today's first song that came to mind was "Morning Has Broken." Gosh, I haven't played any of those recordings in quite some time. Funny how they stay with you though. Such a great song.

Just before sunrise from the western shore of Lake Michigan
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunrise on July 4, 2011
Heart 1 Comment 0
Algoma Pier Light again, this time at sunrise
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yep, that's a.m. and almost half an hour AFTER sunrise
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finally a flower shot and hoping for a lot more.
Heart 0 Comment 0
So pretty
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then just the title refrain from "The Only Road" by Scott Miller kept cycling (ha!) through my head along with the melody.

At one point, we crossed Bear Creek, so naturally John Prine's recording of "Bear Creek Blues" by A.P. Carter *completely* stuck in my mind the rest of they day. BTW, Prine is my top favorite musician.

Wonder how many of these we will see!
Heart 0 Comment 0

John tells me a little later that his thought had been that he wanted to jump into Bear Creek since it looked inviting.

What a beautiful part of Wisconsin
Heart 0 Comment 0

John writes:

Ready to ride some more, but only after Kim straightens her helmet!
Heart 0 Comment 0

This morning, Kim and I got our earliest start yet and pedaled to Sturgeon Bay, WI via a route that was simply beautiful, but entirely too hilly. Along the way, we enjoyed the Wisconsin countryside, the views of Lake Michigan, and feeding my last apple to some horses.

Besides these two horses, you can almost see the little goat hiding behind them
Heart 0 Comment 0
John making a new friend
Heart 0 Comment 0

We pedaled to the Door County visitor's center, and that was followed by lunch at Kittie O'Reilly's Irish Pub.

From there, we pedaled to Pottawatomie State Park to get a gorgeous, shaded camp site. We relaxed for the rest of the afternoon, and we are now sitting in "Waterfront Mary's" just south of Potawatomie. A cheap cover band (Van Halen, The Doors, Eric Clapton, etc.) is playing in the background while I wait for my salad, and Kim waits for her Chicken Cordon Bleu sandwich with fries.

Then we are going to plop down in the grass outside to watch the fireworks over Sturgeon Bay.

July 4, 2011
Heart 0 Comment 0
From Waterfront Mary's
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 88 miles (142 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0