Wednesday Nov 5: Madrid Explorer II - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 5, 2003

Wednesday Nov 5: Madrid Explorer II

I shall be brief again, since this is a cycling website, and my bike is sleeping for the time being.

Today involved figuring out our sched for the next few days. And what did we decide? A train trip tomorrow to Algeciras, on the edge of the Strait of Gibraltar, a ferry ride across the Strait to Tangier, and two nights staying at the Hotel Marco Polo in the Ville Nouvelle, overlooking the port. Yes, Africa. Why? Why not. Just to make sure we had a bit of info, we found a great bookstore that had the LP Morocco. I think I have deforested the Amazon myself with the number of their guidebooks I now have.

Not only that but we tried some great Spanish food, and enjoyed a warm day through the city; though not sunny out, a temperature of 14 was a lot better than the cold and snow of Alberta. Auntie V told me it was -18. I prefer the +18 when it comes, and I think (hope) Tangier will be warmish.

There were very few complaints from the gallery, in fact none, I think, and fortunately no attacks on unsuspecting farm vehicles, or whatever the Spanish equivalent might be.

Don Quijote, Plaza de España, Madrid
Heart 0 Comment 0
Puerta del Sol, and yes, El Corte Ingles
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0