Sunday Sep 7: Plovdiv (Rest Day) - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2003

Sunday Sep 7: Plovdiv (Rest Day)

As per my plans, to visit this historic city and rest my weary "parts" I have stayed the full day and night again in Plovdiv. With yet another perfectly cloudless 25 C day, the view of the nearby mountains all around (and that feeling in my stomach that tomorrow I must face them!), and ruins from the Thracians (5000 BC) and Romans, the old City was amazing to explore.

Yesterday I ran into the two Norwegian cyclists I had met in Edirne, Turkey, so we explored the city. They will head west through Macedonia and Albania en route to Greece, whereas I will be heading north as soon as I figure the way out of the city.

The digi-cam came in really handy today as I was able to take about a gazillion pictures of all these sites - many "kodak moments" or "artsy" photos, "AP's", as the term we coined in Spain two years ago. For anyone debating about bringing a digital camera or a "regular" instamatic, my vote is most definitely with the digital. I find I can take all kinds of shots from different angles and keep some or all of them. Just great.

Time to go back to my B&B to put away tomorrow's breakfast food (yoghourt, fruit bread roll, and milk for my Turkish muesli) - sounds great, eh?! What?! You mean you have issues with my food. Tough - you climb these mountains, then!!

Finally, speaking of these mountains, yesterday in the bookstore there was a physical map of Bulgaria and most of my cycling route. It appears (ie IS) that so far my route has been basically flat land. And from just before I get to Koprivshtitsa tomorrow, I hit really high mountains and will remain in them at least until I reach the Adriatic after Serbia and Montenegro, if not until I reach northern Italy's Po Valley. WISH ME LUCK!!!

Is this a prize-winning pic or what?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Columns and charcoal, Old Plovdiv
Heart 0 Comment 0
A cool shop in the ancient wall
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fellow cyclists... with a contest.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0