Sunday Aug 31: Istanbul (Sultanahmet) to Silivri - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2003

Sunday Aug 31: Istanbul (Sultanahmet) to Silivri

Another milestone met - the first day of actual cycling. The first pedal stroke of many more to come.

We lugged my stuff downstairs and I was concerned that I had about a tonne of stuff to carry. I tried to leave a few things behind, but felt that most of what I had brought would most likely be required. I decided that I would hang onto everything and dump the camping gear if it was just too much, or when I no longer needed it (estimating 1 month). All loaded up, we had pics taken of me departing and I stopped alongside the Bosporus as 'the' starting point.

The owner of the Side Hotel suggested that I follow the seaside out of the city until Silivri. The only problem is that there are abrupt ends to it, curbs to keep cars out and drops to the road with no ramp. Once I was comfortable with the weight I went onto the road for my first encounter with Turkish traffic - and it was not too bad. However, I soon discovered that the rough path had flatted my trailer. Uggghhh!!

The rest of the day was uneventful as I got used to the drivers, the narrow roads, and the incredible heat (mid 30's). Water was my best friend.

This country is so friendly. People waved from cars, fields, gas stations, and just walking along the road.

When I could go no longer, I rolled into Silivri to the Silvyia Hotel by the town square. Off of the tourist map, I found the people very friendly and very curious about me - everyone turns their head to see this oddity on two wheels.

Lamb kebap was calling from by the waterfront once again.

A few moments from the first pedal-stroke.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There is the Bosporus behind all my belongings for the next 100 days. This is the figurative 'dip' into the Bosphorus... the end point 'dip' will be in 5,000 km at Cabo da Roca, Portugal.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Supper break in Silivri. The fellow in the centre is proudly sporting a Cochrane Chimo the Polar Bear pin.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 75 km (47 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0