Friday Nov 14: Osorno to Sahagun: Pain on the Road - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 14, 2003

Friday Nov 14: Osorno to Sahagun: Pain on the Road

Today was tough. Really tough. I woke up feeling crappy. I rode feeling crappy. I eventually arrived after an agonizing ride. I felt crappy having a shower, and now that I am sitting down, feel not too bad.

The best thing is that the landscape is kind of pancake-ish. Sometimes there are little bubbles that I have to climb, but usually flat, flat, flat. That and the wind is keeping its distance. So, I was able to struggle along today through each painful pedal stroke. Unfortunately, I do not really have the time not to cycle if I want to get to Santiago, Cabo da Roca and then to Lisboa for my flight home. I'll make it.

Today I am staying in one of the Pilgrims' refugios - kind of a hostel that are expressly for persons doing the Camino de Santiago. It is in an ancient church so is very cool, not to mention that I was able to bring the bike right inside. Very very cool. The sleeping quarters are a bit different than I have been used to seeing that it is a dorm with 64 bunk beds. But so far, I am the only one there. They had six people last night and none the night before. So who knows. The reason I came was to meet some pilgrims so I am keeping my fingers crossed.

Other than that, today is going to be very calm and relaxed to get over this bug. I would like to make it to Leon tomorrow.

Just along today's route. No, I did not stop for a swim.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 3,822 km (2,373 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0