Lake Burbury to Derwent Bridge: high country high jinks... - In Tasmania - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2009

Lake Burbury to Derwent Bridge: high country high jinks...

Today I'm heading back to the high country, to Derwent Bridge. Nearby Lake St Clair is the southern terminus for the 80 kilometre Overland Track. There are two significant climbs today; Victoria Pass, and King William Saddle, and in between - Donaghy's Hill.

A fine cool day is expected, with rain developing later.

It was a cold and uncomfortable night sheltering from the wind. I rose with the sun and after oats and tea, and drying out my soggy tent, packed up and set out on what I expected to be a hard day. I could feel some heaviness in my legs from yesterday's efforts, but found once again gentle constant grades all the way up to Victoria Pass.

There followed, to my great delight, 20 kilometres of downhill running, and I used the big chain ring for the first time on this tour. Donaghy's Hill was short and sharp, again followed by downhill running to the Frenchman's Cap track, where I had a fine view of the distant but imposing mountain.

I paused for lunch at Franklin River, at the base of the climb to King William Saddle, then set out to finish the job This was a much longer climb, but again the grades were moderate, though I was feeling distinctly leg-weary at the top.

Then for the second time in a day I was able to use the big chain ring on the run down to Derwent Bridge, where I took a room in the hotel, and after a shower and a beer or two, I had an excellent steak for dinner then back to my room for a quick journal update before bedtime.

Victoria Pass was easy...


But Frenchmans Cap is not - the return walk takes 4 to 5 days...

Today's ride: 66 km (41 miles)
Total: 932 km (579 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0