Welcome To The Machine. - the journey - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2011

Welcome To The Machine.

Welcome to "Merida"; my workhorse mountainbike which I had previously used for the commute to work, but had been sitting unused for two years. It says "ultralite triple butted" on the frame and is off the peg equipped with a SRAM groupset. I've changed the wheels from the light, minimal-spoke, cartridge bearing-standard wheels, to a more reliable Shimano thirty-six hole hub wheelset, with Mavic rims; and have fitted Continental Tyres.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The tent is the Norwegian "Hellsport Ringtind"; small tunnel tent, which I've got for many years and had the zips repaired in anticipation for the tour. And I'm using a "Haglofs" lightweight sleeping-bag as I'm not expecting cold nights.

Heart 1 Comment 0

And I'll be carrying everything on my Bobyak trailer.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0