Day 15: To Fairfield - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 11, 2008

Day 15: To Fairfield

The sun started to shine on my tent at 8AM. I got on the road at 9:15 but felt miserable. No energy, aching all over. It feels like a cold but with no cough or stuffy head.

Farm on US20 near Fairfield.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a slight headwind and it seemed like I was going uphill all the time. The monotonous scenery didn't help. I felt weak and was in a foul mood.

US 20 gets increasingly monotonous. Perfectly straight, with golden fields on both sides.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The irrigated farms give way to dry farm fields and abandoned farms. The paved shoulder became narrower while the (still light) traffic gradually increased.

Excitement! A new county.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Abandoned ranch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I felt so bad that I resolved to get a motel room in the next town, Fairfield.

Wheat field near Fairfield.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at 1 PM and got a room at the only motel in town (nice one, though). Then I walked to a nearby restaurant for lunch. I took a nap from 3:30 until 7:30, then got up and heated a can of soup for dinner. That made me feel better but I need a long rest.

The weather forecast calls for a warming trend. That should eliminate any weather concerns about camping at 6000 feet elevation along the middle fork Boise river. Today was sunny with a high of about 75F, but I slept during the warmest part of the day.

Distance: 34.7 miles (55.5 km)

Climbing: 669 feet (203 m)

Average speed: 8.3 mph (13.2 km/h)

Maximum speed: 28 mph (45 km/h)

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 658 miles (1,059 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0