Map - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

Map

The different colors indicate different days. The pink section is an out and back as far as we are allowed to ride up Logan Pass on the Going To The Sun Road.
Heart 1 Comment 0

We have 39 riding days and six days off. Wayne Estes taught me the little trick of averaging the feet of climbing per mile. On this trip, we aren't quite 50 feet a mile. That sounds easy, until I look at a couple of those big climbs on the profile! 

I have been riding all winter in sunny Tucson. These were  smile inducing flat miles. I've been adding in climbing at home in Colorado. I can't decide if it's the higher elevation that makes it more difficult, or the weight that I put on over the winter. Jacinto has volunteered to be my sherpa, but tells me not to abuse the privilege. I tried to pin him down on how many pounds that adds up to, but I haven't been successful. We looked back at the photos in my journal from 2006 when we toured through some of this area. This was our last camping trip. Jacinto also rode a recumbent, and we both pulled BOB trailers. We still have one BOB trailer. I told Jacinto that could be my sherpa's luggage. He wasn't as excited about the idea!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Mike AylingLooking forward to your journal Kelly.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
marilyn swettLooks like a great route!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rachael AndersonWhen are you starting your tour?
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Kelly IniguezTo Rachael AndersonJune 2nd is our first riding day.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Henry DaltonLooks like a great ride! Here are some suggestions for parts I'm familiar with:
1) Going west from Pincher Creek, Alberta, I'd suggest taking the quiet farm roads (Township Road 64, 7-0, etc. to Lundbreck, then Highway 3a past Lundbreck Falls. Highway 3 (the Crowsnest Highway) has good shoulders, but a lot of traffic.

2) In Salmo, BC, I recommend the Reno Motel, on a quiet side street in the heart of town. The rooms at the Salmo Hotel are over a noisy bar, while the Sal-Crest Motel is a few blocks outside of town, right on the busy highway. When I stayed at the Reno 20 years ago, it was owned by a British couple, and they were a hoot--they reminded me of Ozzie and Sharon Osbourne. The husband was a former bicycle racer. It's probably changed hands several times since then, but you should ask.

3) Between Metaline and Ione, Washington, you might want to take Sullivan Lake Road if you have the time. It'll add 5 miles, but it's quite lovely and has little traffic.

4) South of Ione, PLEASE take Le Clerc Road on the east side of the Pend Oreille River. It's beautiful and has almost no traffic.

3)
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Kelly IniguezThank you for the intel - this is just the kind of information that makes Cycle Blaze great! We have ridden Sullivan Lake Road a couple of times. Actually, Jacinto rode it alone, saw attractive girls in bikinis. The next time we came through, the entire group suddenly wanted to ride past the lake. No men were admitting to looking for bikini clad beauties. Sadly, it was a calm day at the lake, with only trees and water for vistas. We have also ridden LeClerc Road - it is memorable.

Pincher Creek is a new area for us - I looked on RWGPS mapping at those back roads. They appear to be gravel? I have it mapped out - opinions might change if it's raining that day!

Thank you for the insider knowledge.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago