Day 10, Cold Springs Station to Austin: My Spirit Animal Speaks To Me - Searching For a Heart Attack on the Western Express - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2017

Day 10, Cold Springs Station to Austin: My Spirit Animal Speaks To Me

NOTE; You can leave a comment or question for us by using the “Comment” feature located near the bottom of the page. We enjoy getting these and will respond as soon as we have internet service (some places we stay don’t have it or the wifi is just too weak to be useable). Thanks!

Cold Springs Station to Austin
Heart 0 Comment 0

Mileage Today; 50 Total So Far; 438 Remaining; 1,158

Climbing Today; 2,855 Total So Far; 26,941 Remaining; 74,445

Max Grade Today; 13.6% Average Uphill Grade; 2.0%

Average Speed While Riding; 7.7 mph

Mechanical Issues; None

Photos Credit; Bud, unless noted otherwise

Today was my first day to roll out without my riding companions, and I was a bit melancholy because of that. But it’s another “no-services” day, and I was anxious to put in some miles before the sun woke up. Rolling along I thought it was kind of eerie that there was no coyote music; the environment seemed similar to that of the High Plains in Montana, Wyoming, and Northern Colorado where I would hear the coyotes every morning, but there was nothing but silence. Oh well, so be it. Here’s the pre-dawn view;

The Pre-Dawn Time is Best For Riding
Heart 0 Comment 0

When the sun did rise, I was glad to see it hide behind some clouds for a while so I could roll some more miles without the exposure;

Clouds Provided Some Relief After Sunrise
Heart 0 Comment 0

Looks like I’ll be following 50 for awhile yet;

Still Going to be Following 50 For a Ways
Heart 0 Comment 0

Antelope? I’ve seen none, though others have told me they are out here.

Antelope? Haven't Seen Any
Heart 0 Comment 0

Wait a minute! What’s that I hear? Though the sun is up, a couple of coyotes are singing their final notes of the night in the not-too-far distance. Now I was happy; if the coyotes would sing to me, I would get through this tour even without Sis and Doc, though I wished at the moment that they were here to appreciate the music. A few miles later, I captured this shy fellow returning to his den after a night of carousing;

I Love the Music of the Coyote; This Fellow Was Quite Wary of Me
Heart 0 Comment 0
He Blends In Well With the Environment
Heart 0 Comment 0

The roadcuts through the mountains provide a little bit of shade in the early morn before the sun rises too high;

Roadcuts Through the Mountains Provide Some Early Morning Shade
Heart 0 Comment 0

It’s rugged country, and the geology reflects such;

The Terrain is Rugged. Geology, Like History, is Everywhere
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Falling Rock Sign, Even With the Flasher, Didn't Slow Traffic Any
Heart 0 Comment 0

This was once the New Pass stage stop;

New Pass Stage Stop is Not So New Any More
Heart 0 Comment 0

A bit of history about the stage operation;

Today's History Lesson
Heart 0 Comment 0

And I’m atop New Pass Summit now. There will be many more in the days ahead, and each one must be earned.

Atop New Pass Summit
Heart 0 Comment 0

Mt. Airy Summit is the final summit for me today;

Atop Mt. Airy Summit
Heart 0 Comment 0

The vast distances out here leave me in awe. It’s difficult to express just how small you feel when you realize that you are traversing these distances using your own power.

One Traverses Vast Distances Out Here - This Is a 10-Mile Downhill Run
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m still following the old Pony Express Route. I can’t begin to imagine how challenging it was for those young men.

Still Intersecting the Pony Express Route
Heart 0 Comment 0

Austin, my destination for the next 2 nights, lies in the hills ahead.

Austin is Hidden in the Hills Ahead
Heart 0 Comment 0

The day was hot, and that made the climbing even harder. I was glad to finally be approaching Austin. I stopped for a rest in the rare shade of a tree beside the road; the tree existed because it was maintained as part of the Austin cemetery. Apparently when folks die in Austin they go to the great roping arena in the sky;

The Austin Cemetery is Called a "Roping Arena?"
Heart 0 Comment 0

I always wanted to go to the Austin City Limits. There should be good music in this town.

Always Wanted to Go To the Austin City Limits - Where's Waylon and Willy and the Boys?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rolling up to the Lincoln Motel I was glad I had a reservation, because there were no vacancies.

The Lincoln Motel Has No Vacancy - Glad I have a Reservation
Heart 0 Comment 0

Actually, there were no vacancies in any of the small hotels in Austin. And I found that to be true in other towns as well; Route 50 has become a popular travel corridor, and you need to plan in advance if you want a room. I was glad to successfully get through this hot day of no-services. I need to start getting up earlier as the no-services sections get longer soon. Good night all…

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 437 miles (703 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0