Tucson - Amado - I'm Happy To Be Here - CycleBlaze

December 2, 2021

Tucson - Amado

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was awake what seemed like the entire night. Can I be honest? My big worry was using the bathroom and stinking it up. I haven’t had a roommate besides Jacinto in a long time. What if my bowels are shy and I end up with a bathroom problem? That happened to our son in China and we had to go to the emergency room. In China. That was an experience. 

I regress. Let me get back on track. Happily I did NOT have bathroom issues and I had no smell complaints from Jan. We were awake long before our planned departure. 

We had agreed on a 10 AM departure. I thought we had plenty of time. But we kept getting ready as we returned from breakfast. Suddenly, we were ready to go early. We had to drop the cars off at the long term parking. That was perhaps a half mile away. The man hopped in his van, ready to give us a ride back, but we planned to walk. 

Back in the room, Jan was ready first. I’m not used to being last. I’m always ready to go. I dithered around, trying to stuff items in corners. I got all packed, and then didn’t have socks! Of course, clothes were at the bottom. Finally I was ready. We were out the door 45 minutes early. 

I had us routed around the airport. That was not the route I had given Jan. She protested that she had planned for a 42 mile day, not 48.  We went around anyway. Jan wasn’t impressed with the rough road surface. I told her I had avoided Corona Road, she should be happy. Jan assured me that the roads in Oro Valley are much nicer than this. Her wrists were already hurting. It’s a good thing she had aero bars. 

I had just ridden this last week, I knew where to go. 12 miles down the roads and we passed the mission. The exterior repair progress seemed about the same as my last time past. 

We took the left onto Mission Road. That surface was more to Jan’s liking. I warned her that it was new until just over the top. Then it was old, but not too rough. 

I had also told Jan that she had to talk on the climb. I needed all of my air for breathing. She laughed and said that she remembered that I didn’t like to sweat and pant at the same time. I don’t remember saying that, but it was a clear memory for her, and seems entirely possible. Climbing isn’t my favorite part of cycling. 

We took a couple of pit stops. I ate my apple early. Jan caught me on that one. I had told her I save my apple until the half way stop. Not today. 

Tucson has been having record high temperatures. Today was forecast to be 82 degrees. I was very warm, while climbing slowly. I hadplenty of ice in my bottles. The downside was drinking the water too soon. Happily, I had an extra bottle to top them off. 

The top seemed to arrive sooner than I expected. Jan had told good stories to distract me. She said the Wheelie was handling well, but her wrists hurt. Jan requested an ice cream stop in Green Valley. That threw me a moment. I’m sure there is ice cream, but where? I told her we could Google it. Jan just wanted off the bike as soon as possible. We stopped at Walgreens. There was a Salvation Army bell ringer outside. Yes, it is that season. I made a $2. Bill donation. I bet that was their only $2. Bill. 

I gave Jan another $2. For a lemonade. I sat on the curb in the shade and at a leftover chicken breast. Jacinto would be proud. Jan came back with two cold drinks and a little container of ice cream bonbons that she shared. 

We had 10 miles to go. I warned her about the odd entrance to the frontage road, and we were off. 

There was a slight headwind. I was ready to be there. I had stopped, and my body thought we were done. Nope. More miles to go. 

Jan wasn’t interested in going into town, we would see it tonight. As we pulled up, John came over to register us. We are the only guests tonight. He and I chatted a bit about how their potential sale of the B&B had fallen through, even though they had offered to finance half. We discussed breakfast. John opened a bottle of win for me. I took a glass out onto the veranda to enjoy the view and wait for a phone call. 

This is the life! A nice bike ride, with a good overnight spot, good weather (IN DECEMBER), wine, and a view. Retired life is fine!

I took my call, showered, washed clothes, and we walked to town for dinner. 

This time we went with John’s safe meal-the turkey melt with sweet potato fries. It was acceptable, if not delicious. Definitely better than the last meal at the Longhorn Restaurant. 

Dusk was falling as we walked back to the B&B. It seemed much later than 6:30.  Is it bedtime yet?

I wonder what company this is? Reading the side of the plane.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltRolls Royce logo on the tail?

They make a lot of jet engines.

https://www.rolls-royce.com/products-and-services/civil-aerospace.aspx
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
San Xavier Mission.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Detail on a school wall near the mission.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I wonder how high flood waters get here?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Helmet Peak in the background.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesAnd in the foreground also.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Steve Miller/GrampiesHa! Good one.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jan, pulling her Wheele?
Heart 1 Comment 3
marilyn swettInteresting contraption! I wonder how heavy it is and how it will ultimately work for her.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo marilyn swettMarilyn,

Jan says she thinks they saw you out riding. It was a recumbent tandem in the Catalina park area. Her husband noticed that you had an IPS and (she thinks), he commented on it to you in passing. Do you remember?

Jab was pulling the wheelie then. That you might have noticed.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettTo Kelly IniguezI don't recall anyone talking to us about our IPS but we did most of our riding in Oro Valley and near Catalina State Park. If it was an orange recumbent tandem then it was likely us!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 483 miles (777 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Henry DaltonThat plane has the Rolls Royce logo on the tail. They make jet engines in addition to fancy cars, so I guess this is a test plane for their engines (or a demo model?).
Reply to this comment
2 years ago