Day 8 - ending near Bloomfield, MO - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2023

Day 8 - ending near Bloomfield, MO

Day 8 - Jackson, MO to Bloomfield, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

It seemed so cold last night, though I think it only got down to 50F. Bundled up, I slept fine. Up at 5:45am for report writing. Tried to get it posted, but the cell signal here couldn't handle the pictures.

I couldn't make up my mind whether to go west to Marble Hill for breakfast or head straight south on my original plan. My camping neighbors came over with a map and discussed the options. They've been riding a three-wheel motorcycle around the area and had all the roads they've been on highlighted. In the end, I ate some Pop-Tarts so I could do the straight south route.

Left at 10:56am with both gallon water jugs full. My destination today and tomorrow are Missouri Conservation Areas, where no water is available. Tonight's spot is Holly Ridge Conservation Area near Bloomfield, Missouri - about 42 miles away.

Headed west from the campground on MO-34, then turned south at 11:18am onto Road-U. U started off with a hill I mostly had to walk up, but it wouldn't be the last. Even the hills I could ride up were work. Lots of breaks, and a few stops just to eat energy bars. Thankfully, there were only a few cars using this road.

By noon, I'd made 5.0 miles.

Finally, nearing 2:00pm, Road-U dropped into a flat valley. I left U for a short section of Road-N east, then turned back south on Road-NN. The wind was a big help again today. I wish I'd taken NN all the way to MO-25, after I got on a loose gravel road shortcut. I'd forgotten that Missouri gravel roads are really hard to bicycle on.

All morning I'd been looking forward to my arrival to the town of Advance, because there would be a place to eat there. I was too late for the hometown cafe, which closed at 2:00pm, but there is a McDonald's in town. Stopping there worked out pretty well, actually. I was able to charge my cell phone while I ate and to get yesterday's report posted.

I left Advance at 4:40pm with 19 miles to go. Heading south on the wide shoulder of MO-25 was a delight. Passed through Aquilla at 5:53pm and Bloomfield at 6:23pm. Only 2.5 more miles left, starting with a walk up Road-E. Then a right turn onto County Road 517. This road turned to gravel after the cemetery. This was definitely the unrideable type of gravel. The high crown of the road, the curves, and the ups and downs had me walking probably half of the 2 miles to get to the camping area.

Finally, at 7:40pm, I was at the campground. There are three spots here. I have the place to myself. Set up on the flattest spot I could find. There's a cell signal here, which pleasantly surprised me.

The bike did well today - carrying the extra water and with all the bouncing around and being pushed. "Good Bike."

Jeff

Spent: $14.82 (lunch) + $3.66 (Powerade) = $18.48

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNice shot of the daisies!

https://mdc.mo.gov/discover-nature/field-guide/ox-eye-daisy
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This gravel was rideable.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltOur Clematis vine should start looking like that in a couple weeks!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
I didn't know what this was - wasn't even sure it was real. I did notice it was growing up a string support.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 364 miles (586 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy GrahamI am impressed that you are able to keep up with your blog and ride all those miles. Those gravel roads/paths in Missouri would do me in and I would end up sitting down in bewilderment of what to do instead!! Very much enjoying your trip with you Jeff.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks. So far, riding and posting is working OK.
I haven't been completely bewildered yet, but there have been thoughts, "If I had my truck with me . . ."
One thing I can't complain about is this beautiful weather!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago