Day 55 - still at Anton, CO - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2023

Day 55 - still at Anton, CO

At 2:00am last night we had rain for 20 minutes. The tent handled it well. Up at 4:52am. It was cool, damp, foggy, and overcast. Worked on report for three days ago, and got it posted.

At 8:10am I went to Anton Super's, which is a grocery store, for breakfast items and lunchbox items. Since I'd spent over $20, I got a free cloth grocery bag. They don't have any sit-down inside tables, so I ate breakfast outside on their picnic table in the cold breeze.

I did some research this morning on bike shops and routes. The crack in the rear hub is getting a little worse. I'm four days from Scottsbluff, Nebraska, where there are two bike shops. I see there's one also in Fort Morgan, Colorado. I could order a whole new wheel from Amazon and have it shipped to one of the bike shops . . . maybe, if I could get all the specifications matched correctly.

At 9:15am I tried calling my wife, since I had a one bar cell signal for the moment. The call wouldn't go through, so we sent text messages back and forth instead.

Being so far behind on journal postings, I decided to take the day off. I've got fast wifi here, electricity, and camping's a lot cheaper than staying in a motel. With that decision made I took a short mid-morning nap. I am missing out on the strong southeast wind that would be a tailwind for me today, if I was bicycling. Though, strong storms are predicted for the afternoon. It would be good not to be out on the road for those.

I paid for a second night, which was only $10 this time. They unlocked a motel room for me so I could take a shower later.

After lunch from my lunch bag, I worked on the bike. Found a 9 mm wire in the rear tire and was able to get it out. A wire that long should have poked a hole in the tube. Maybe it did. I'll know in the morning. I disconnected the spoke next to the hub crack completely from its nipple and tied it to a nearby spoke. I trued the wheel some. We'll see how that works.

Rain was coming, so at 3:50pm I went back to Super's to buy supper items. I got back to the tent just when it started raining. That lasted about an hour. In the meantime I was able to get the report posted for two days ago.

At 6:00pm I ate supper outside in the sunshine. Got my shower at 6:40pm.

The weather was different when I got outside after my shower. It had turned cold and there was a strong wind from the east. Earlier in the day I'd added four guidelines to the corners of the tent. I tightened all those up then got in the tent for the night.

Worked some on yesterday's report until bedtime, which was 10:00pm tonight. I'm happy with what I got done today.

Jeff

Spent: $10 (campsite) + $26.88 (breakfast items, lunch bag items, deodorant) + $9.63 (supper items) = $46.51

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 6
Steve H71One of those bike shops you referred to could build you a new wheel possibly.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
Yes, maybe . . .
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Timothy SwitzerI was talking to Jolly at church on Sunday about that hub. I would think it would be easier to find a good welder out in the boondocks, than a bike shop. If it's an aluminum hub, it may take a welder with some special equipment but it would save having to remove all the spokes and rebuild the wheel, I would think. Maybe??
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Steve H71To Timothy Switzer Welding the hub is a option, but it will cause a potential wobbling of the wheel due to a hub that is not symmetrical. The cones and seals may not seat properly either which can lead to a constantly loose wheel. My two cents
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
I like that idea.
You know by now that I've decided to just keep going as is.
Thanks for giving thought to the matter.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
Thanks. Those are issues I hadn't considered.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamDo you not need to heat the Compleats meal to eat it? Quite convenient. I also see sardines are a staple for your lunchtime meal. Do you bring a whole bunch of those with you or are you able to find those along the way.
I so enjoy all your posts!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
The Hormel Compleats meals are pre-cooked, so don't need heating, according to my wife.
I do bring as many cans of my favorite sardines (King Oscar brand) with me as I can. When I run out of those, other brands are available at dollar stores.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0