"You're doing this all by yourself?" - Living out of a Trailer - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2015

"You're doing this all by yourself?"

I checked my suitcase and duffel bag with Delta (Flying out of Atlanta and ATL is Delta HQ, so naturally it would be Delta) to head towards Pittsburgh, my starting point. My folded bike sits in the suitcase and comes in at 48lbs, so it's checked as one of my free bags. That THAT, airline bike fee! This allows me to walk onto the plane with nothing but me and my backpack (oh, and clothing - I wasn't allowed to board naked). Once in Pittsburgh I make my way to the baggage carousel, pull my gear off, and find an unbusy corner to assemble everything.

Before view: pulled the duffel bag containing gear and the suitcase containing the bike off the baggage carousel and started the assembly
Heart 0 Comment 0
After view: The bike is assembled and I have yet to transfer the kit from the duffel bag to the trailer
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's about 30 minutes from the time I get the bags off the carousel, make my way to the corner, assemble the bike, load the trailer, and then clip into the pedals and start rolling out of the airport. Now just how does a touring cyclist make their way out of an airport built to connect automobile traffic with aviation traffic? Simple - go through the parking areas. I found I could ride around the gates nice and easy and these led me to cargo access roads which were far less travelled. In fact, Pittsburgh has an access road which bans automobiles but allows bicycles so they can pull in cycling tourists. How's THAT for embracing the cycle touring industry?

Just off an airport periphery road, you'll find an access road which is part of the Montour Trail system. From here, you can ride on traffic free roads to connect to the Montour (and GAP) trail
Heart 1 Comment 0

I really liked the route from the airport to linking to the Montour Trail. The designers used existing roads and passages through some areas that were not vehicle-allowed. So, I was able to ride unfettered through an FAA training facility (what they train I don't know) and it was car-free and the only other life I saw was a snake.

Riding through the FAA training facility on the Montour Trail airport connector
Heart 0 Comment 0

The airport connector dumps me onto the Montour trail proper. Literally I cross the street and hang a left onto the trail. This starts the many miles of trail riding I do on this trip. And with the touring kit I'm riding with, a rail-trail is an optimal route to use. Why? Well, here's my first thought on the trailer setup.

Bike Friday touring deep thoughts #1

The trailer tows just fine - no complaints. There really isn't much difference towing a trailer than riding a bike with panniers. I find the acceleration is a lot slower but once up to speed it hums along just nicely. Hills are another matter - you may not notice the incline but the bike (and trailer) does. It slows you down tremendously, and does so with intention. The trailer, though, is wide. It's the width of the suitcase PLUS about 4"-5" on either side for the wheels. This means it needs width - you can't ride the bike as far right as possible on the road because you need to leave space for the trailer. Therefore, the rail trail is the best use of this setup.

Yes, I did make train noises to echo through the tunnel as I rode through - why do you ask?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I traverse the trail until I make the turnoff for the REI in the 'burbs. There's a climb. Yes, a climb. Now the cars are zipping up the hill into the shopping area but you can hear they are revving as they make their way up. I'm in the right lane, pulling this trailer, in the lowest gear my 8-spd internal hub can go, and I'm really earning this climb. I make it to the top, over another hill into the second shopping area (do we worship the gods of commerce in this country or what?) and then into the REI for stove fuel. I also look for stickers for the trailer but they don't have any - guess I'll have to find them later on along the trail.

Clouds gather and accumulate for most of the ride and then unleash precipitation as I ride through surface streets to the hotel. Arrived wet, soaked, and wandered into the hotel lobby where the desk clerk asked about the trip. Question one, "You're doing this all by yourself?" Yes, I am. This is one of the "top 10" questions I receive when talking with non-tourers. The zeitgeist of the non-touring public doesn't seem to comprehend that activities, or even travel and exploration, should be done without others. I like sharing a touring adventure just as much as anyone else (it's why I spend time posting about the adventure) but if there's noone to travel with me for the tour at that particular time, I have no problem doing it alone. Heck, it's sort-of a selfish guilty pleasure being able to do anything I want whenever I want to do it along the route. Take a 5-mile side trip? No problem. Go 20 more miles at the end of the day to camp someplace better? Why not? Hole up in a cheap motel room to avoid the rain instead of a resort? Sure.... I only have me to worry about.

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 19 miles (31 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0