Day 49: Nanutarra roadhouse to Yannarie rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2022

Day 49: Nanutarra roadhouse to Yannarie rest area

Start: 8:55 am
Distance: 78 km
Ride time: 3:57 hours
Average: 19 km/hr 
Max: 31km/hr
Finish: 1:30 pm

Today was new flowers day:

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Heart 4 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

It was really nice to see so many flowers.

Some hilly terrain.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rous Creek was bone dry.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Around lunchtime I saw a couple having a rest break. They invited me over.

It was Ken and Robyn. They kindly gave me a home made quiche and a home grown orange.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 6 Comment 0

After a while I arrived at Yannarie rest area. There is a big river here where I intended to resupply and have a wash.

Surprisingly, the information on Wikicamps wasn't correct and the Yannarie River was dry.
Heart 4 Comment 0

This put me in a challenging position. I would have to ask for water. There were maybe 20 caravans here. 

I went to the biggest van which was in a group of 3 vans. The person was mean and didn't want to help me.

I felt embarrassed to ask for water but there was no other option. This was the first time I was really stuck for water.

The next van I went to was very helpful. I filled up my two water bladders from their 300 litre water tank.

Thank you very much Cheree and Allan.
Heart 10 Comment 0

I set up my tent and relaxed in the shade.

After a while a man came up to me and explained I could swim in the river. He must be a local. He said the river was flowing underground at the rest area and was above ground further on.

He said to go 1km down the road, then turn left onto a dirt track. Go through the gate that says 'mine site, no entry,' and follow that for 750 metres. Then climb a barbed wire fence.

It brought me to this wonderful expanse of water.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyWow! That’s a welcoming site!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyYeh, it was awesome!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I filled up my remaining dry water bottles and had a swim. It felt great. Thank you to the kind stranger. This helped me to get over the mean person from earlier.

Free!
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 2,960 km (1,838 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltA whole week's worth of web searching for these flower IDs!

Thanks for posting! This could take me a while...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyTake your time mate.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago