Day 27: Birdwood Downs Station to Derby - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2022

Day 27: Birdwood Downs Station to Derby

Start: 8 am

Distance: 42 km

Ride time: 2:28 hours

Average: 17 km/hr

Max: 28 km/hr

Finish: 11am

After a short ride I saw these dogs.
Heart 4 Comment 0

 They are probably just town dogs although they ran away when I called to them.

I arrived at the Mowanjum Art Centre half an hour before they opened. It is 10kms out of town. I waited patiently and I wasn't disappointed. 

The art on display was very nice.

I bought a piece by Gabriella Barunga. She is a Ngarinyin woman. The painting is of their creator spirit Wandjina, Dumbi barn owls, and Ungud snake. I received some information about the meaning of the different beings.

I love it.
Heart 9 Comment 0

They will mail it home for me.

Finally I say goodbye to the Gibb. This sign is on the other side of the road.
Heart 10 Comment 0

It's been amazing. I thought it would be so much tougher. I was pleased it was so achievable. It's given me great hope that I can finish the rest of this ride.

I headed north for 6kms to get to Derby.

The Derby sand flats.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Norval gallery.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaI like that very much
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaI like that very much
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I bought a new book today from the information centre. It had a recommendation from Paul Kelly.
Heart 3 Comment 0

A few people had told me accommodation in Broome is difficult to get. I called one caravan park and they were fully booked.

I found a campsite at a caravan park a bit out of town.

At sunset I rode back out to the jetty.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It was time for me to share some kindness. I had some drinks which I enjoyed with Nathan and Gorgina from Tasmania. 

It felt nice to pass on some good karma when I have been on the receiving end for the last couple of weeks.

I then went to a pub for dinner. It was nice to have food that wasn't dehydrated. 

The distance from Birdwood Downs Station to Derby is only 17kms. I did lots of riding around town and out to the jetty making it a 42km day.

A few travellers and a couple of businesses warned me about the crime rate here. The caravan park was fenced and they locked us in at night time.

I never saw any unsavoury behaviour. 

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 1,380 km (857 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0