Day 141: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 16, 2022

Day 141: Rest day

I slept so good and I was happily lazy getting up at 10am. I had stoopid coughing fits during the night. I sucked on lozenges while I slept. I returned to the French cafe for an excellent tasty brunch.

I then went to the info centre and saw Mathew Flinders and his cat Trim.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I saw a statue of Makybe Diva.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I'm not fond of horse racing. Makybe Diva was an accomplished horse and won 3 Melbourne Cups. She was owned by a SA fisherman. 

There was a car show on at the foreshore. There was maybe 100 cars, trucks, and motorcycles. 

The foreshore.
Heart 4 Comment 0
An early Australian made car, the 1956 FJ Holden.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Another Australian made car, the 1965 XP Ford. I almost bought one of these a long time ago.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is a 1963 EH Holden. This is almost identical to my car which is the only car I've owned for 20 years.
Heart 9 Comment 4
Kerrie McCarthyYes, yours is cooler 😎
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI believe I have seen some calculations that indicate continuing to use older stuff is better than buying new stuff. It was back when Obama encouraged cash for clunkers and we lost the majority of some great old reliable stuff.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks Bill. My conscious is now clear.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I like to think that I'm saving the environment by continuing to use a product instead of throwing it away. But perhaps I'm destroying the environment because it doesn't have the latest environmental emission controls. 

I need to ask Dr Karl this question.

I went to a hardware store and bought some more cable ties.

I need to identify my front hub cables so when I remove the front wheel, I know where to replace them.
Heart 4 Comment 0
While in the camp kitchen, Shannon (aged 25) came on by exercising his athletic ability. I have no skills to do this.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI can do that!

For about 2 pedal strokes.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyWahoo! That's way better than me.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I met Rita from Adelaide, who was doing some amazing quilting.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyVery impressive! She must have a lot of patience.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
She donates her work to local charities. I was very impressed.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 16 km (10 miles)
Total: 8,427 km (5,233 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Annie O'SheaA hundred weight in kilos is approx 50.8 kilos
Reply to this comment
1 year ago