Day 127: Border Village to bush camp - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 1, 2022

Day 127: Border Village to bush camp

Start: 5:05am
Distance: 110km
Ride time:  6:37hours
Average:  17km/hr 
Max: 28km/hr
Finish: 1:20pm

I was up early for another big day. I've said that a lot recently. Another headwind was forecast for all day and it was accurate. 

I was happy to start the day with cereal and fresh milk.

Nullarbor is the next roadhouse at 184kms. This sign is also the first mention of Adelaide.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a wide load nipped that sign!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI think you're correct.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I had a nice shoulder riding through WA. In SA today, there was no shoulder.

A nice sunrise.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Marine Park.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I was riding along in a daze and this dingo crossed the road in front of me.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I didn't see any trees today, it was all low lying scrub.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was riding along when a road train came up behind me. Without looking, I moved off the road quickly and I ran over a brown coloured snake. 

It raised it's head at me and luckily didn't bite. I didn't hurt it badly as it quickly slithered off into the bushes before I could get a photo.

I stopped at a lookout for this pic.
Heart 9 Comment 0

I also saw 3 reptiles:

A 10inch baby snake.
Heart 3 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be a Master's snake.

https://www.wildsouthaustralia.info/Reptiles/Snakes/Drysdalia-mastersii-Masters-Sn/i-Zf6NJSJ
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaThe head of the snake has me beat but the rest reminds me of the Death Adder I saw in my yard
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyAn excellent identification. Thank you Bill!.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I found similar looking snakes on the internet but none from this location. This may be a task for my researcher friend Bill.

Bill later identified this as a Master's snake.

A 4inch small skink.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI was going to attempt to ID this one, but there are over 100 species of skinks in South Australia!

Already spent over an hour on the snake and it is now past midnight. Maybe someone in OZ will help.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill. You're far too generous with your time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A shingleback.
Heart 6 Comment 0
After 108kms, I took a 2km side track to my camp spot.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Another tiring day, yet I was rewarded by beauty.

I am on the edge of the cliff.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Water view.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaRuff beauty, gorgeous
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Someone had spent a lot of time to creatively make a whale and write: "Fight for the Bight."
Heart 5 Comment 0

I spent a lot of time looking for whales and failed to spot any.

There is no one else camped here. This has to be my best cliff top camp spot ever.

Free!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 110 km (68 miles)
Total: 7,471 km (4,639 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0