A Bit Of Advice For The Mechanically-Inept - High Stakes Bike Touring - CycleBlaze

A Bit Of Advice For The Mechanically-Inept

I boxed up my bike today in preparation for the $67 flight to Las Vegas.  It's not really a big deal--simply remove the wheels, pedals and handlebars, and then squeeze in a little padding.  Even I can do that.

Any bike mechanic worth his Bicycle Institute of Engineering (B.I.E.) degree will tell you to be extremely careful while removing the pedal on the drive side of your bike.  Everything I know about working on my own bike I've learned from either YouTube or The Big Blue Book of Bicycle Repair.  The B.B.B. of B.R. is where I learned that the two pedals are threaded into the crank arm in opposite directions.

"Use care not to abrade skin on crank or chain ring." -Big Blue Book of Bicycle Repair
Heart 0 Comment 0
Evidence of my mechanical ineptitude--after the bleeding stopped.
Heart 0 Comment 3
Ron SuchanekThat hand's gonna have to come off....
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Ron SuchanekWait til you see my upper arm area toward the end of this journal. Almost as gross as Jen's leg wound.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauI can't wait!!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

[Editor's Note:  There is no "Bicycle Institute of Engineering degree."  I just made that up.]

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Adam ZamoraI wish I would have read this entry before spending all that money on my Bicycle Institute of Engineering degree...
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Adam ZamoraNice to hear from you again, Adam. I think I laughed out loud for at least a minute after reading your comment--not because you lost your life savings on a B.I.E. degree, but because it was just plain funny.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago