Rest days at Laem Son NP - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

November 4, 2018 to November 5, 2018

Rest days at Laem Son NP

Off season, off the beaten track. You can still experience the "real" Thailand when going through the effort of pedalling around the country. Coming down here along the #1037  to the mixed (Buddhists and Muslims) community gives you the chance to observe a remote, active fishing village in Ban Ao Khoei. 

I am thrilled to be back at the Wasana Resort eight years after my first visit and the decision to stay three nights was quickly made when I was welcomed by Bo and Wasana like an old friend. The reason he remembered me at all may well have been the previous company of Leo, another Dutchman who comes down here on a regular base to help out in the Burmese refugee camps as a teacher. 

As I already mentioned yesterday there are to my knowledge no great swimming beaches out here around the very tidal National Park but Bo suggested to jump in from the Bang Ben Pier. No option I tried out as the strong current from the outgoing tide was visible when I was down there. I still enjoyed my days out though without paying the ridiculous 200 Baht they are asking for at the National Park. Ridiculous as what you pay for covers only the tip of the peninsula and you can - in my opinion - access all interesting spots for free without breaking any rules. Either from Bang Ben Pier, from the other resorts or from Hat Ao Khoei.

Low tide on the way to Bang Ben Pier
Heart 1 Comment 0
A bit more water near Bang Ben Pier
Heart 2 Comment 0
Near Bang Ben Pier
Heart 1 Comment 0
Near Bang Ben Pier
Heart 1 Comment 0
The garden of the Wasana Resort with my bungalow on the very left
Heart 2 Comment 0
My dinner table - as good as candle light
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pad Paed Gai served at the resort. "The best" is always a big expression but I don´t think I ever had any better fried chicken. Mind you nothing for chili beginners... Adendum: I had a comment from Jan who was obviously not happy with the food situation when he was here last. My order had been forwarded to the sister who lives next door. Probably you deliberately ask for that option too. Otherwise there is a tiny food shack on the left 100 m down the road towards the NP gate. Not cheap but I had a very good fried squid with kale.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Ban Ao Khoei
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hat Ao Khoei
Heart 1 Comment 0
They must have been out all night, come back with less than 2 kg of small fish and he still proudly presents his catch to the farang running around with a camera. Humility for you!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hat Ao Khoei
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ban Ao Khoei
Heart 1 Comment 0
Two shells from Ao Khoei Beach for my private collection
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nothing better than a mud pack in that heat
Heart 2 Comment 0
Northern end of Hat Ao Khoei where the 2004 Tsunami remainders are still visible
Heart 3 Comment 0
Laem Son National Park
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 km (6 miles)
Total: 595 km (369 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0