Rest day in Kampong Cham - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 2, 2018

Rest day in Kampong Cham

Today was a real rest day apart from running some errands (ATM, laundry) and a very relaxed stroll down to the Kaoh Pen bamboo bridge. Unfortunately I couldn´t find a travel agency that would have organized my Thai visa so I will be leaving tomorrow towards the Vietnamese border via Prey Veng.

As I got some money today, let me have a word on how I deal with it here in Cambodia: US$ and Riel are used parallel at an exchange rate of 1:4000. When paying any bill you can mix as you wish. A coffee in the Mekong Crossing Restaurant, my favourite breakfast place, i.e. is 1.25 US$. It goes without saying you will give either 5000 Riel or 1 $ and 1000 Riel. 

The ATMs will only spit US$ and usually in large notes, I got 3 x 100 US$ today. Breaking a 100 $ note is basically impossible while cycling the country  so I do change to Riel. As a bonus I will actually get some of my 5 $ bank fee in return as the current money changer rate is 1:4020. I know it is marginal but as I said the real reason is to have change available.

Addendum: I found out that the Malaysian Maybank (yellow-black logo) does not charge visa card holders. No easier way to save yourself 5 US$!

Looking down towards the market from my balcony
Heart 3 Comment 0
I love happy people, in particular when they do sell me a cold drink as well
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Colonial Kampong Cham
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kampong Cham from the bridge
Heart 4 Comment 1
jan houtermansWow, what a difference compared to 2010
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Masterpiece! Rebuilt every dry season
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Mekong Crossing. Great coffee, good meals, prime position
Heart 3 Comment 2
jan houtermansSame Same as 8 years ago. A friendly and relaxed place always perfect to have a beer with view.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo jan houtermansI fully agree, Jan. But do you know the real reason why I keep going there? Mashed potatoes
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0