3 rest days in Phnom Penh - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 5, 2018 to February 7, 2018

3 rest days in Phnom Penh

Once I knew I was going to be in Phnom Penh for four nights I thought "How can I make use of all this time?" - I believe I achieved results:

-Bike maintenance: Let me start with one of the highlights of my days here and sing the song of joy on the Flying Bikes 2 shop. Obviously having my bike serviced wasn´t planned as I didn´t even know I was coming. I searched the net and quickly came down to the above mentioned shop, just 10 minutes away from my guesthouse. I rode over last night to see whether I could get an appointment and I could indeed indeed. Straight away. They kept the Koga and told me to come back at 5 pm today to pick it up . In return I gave them authority to replace any parts they deemed necessary. "How much will it be?" - was my obvious question and the very pleasing answer: "The Service Package 2 costs 15 US$ plus parts." Have a look at their "menu" below to understand how much service you get for that money! When I picked the Koga up I was even more delighted as I don´t think it has ever been in better hands. I particularly appreciate they fixed the front wheel bearings -which have bothered me ever since I started this ride- and also the chain looks like new without replacement. Would have been so easy to sell me some parts...... This means a lot to me as I already mentioned before: My bike is not just a machine carrying my gear but my travel companion. So after all the recent maltreatment it really deserved that wellness treatment. 

-Getting shiny teeth: I could see the Pacific Dental Clinic from my balcony and thought: Why not walk in and ask whether they do dental cleanings? They do, they do it the same day, they do it very well and I was very pleased with result and costs: 15 US$ in comparison to 92 € at my home dentist in Germany.

The longer I am staying in Phnom Penh the more I like it and meanwhile I am asking myself: Why didn´t I want to come here in the first place? Well, I told you and the traffic is as crazy as I remembered from my previous visits. But I only use the bike for the essential rides - otherwise I just walk around as anything I need per day is in easy reach. That´s one of the bonuses being right in the center. But let me try to explain why I do like this indisputable  crazy city: I believe it is - apart from Hanoi and Yangon - the last remaining capital in South East Asia which has kept that electrifying appeal of colonial architecture and charming Asian hustle. They definitely worked on the development of the waterfront but the result only adds and I could sit on the shady walls along the river for hours, only turning round every now and then to change my view from the meditative Mekong to urban madness.

The rest of the time I spend either drinking buckets of iced coffee and tea, eating in one of the innumerable Khmer or international restaurants or sitting on my balcony or terrace of the guesthouse. While enjoying that lazy life I was fortunate enough to bump into several exciting people again. I will only mention two here as I do like their projects in particular: Martin Bertrand, a young French travel photographer who stayed in the same guesthouse as me and Tieng Piseth, co-developer of the great free app "Khmer Rouge History".

Even if I keep repeating myself: the makeshift stop Phnom Penh has turned into some most enjoyable days of rest and recreation. I have been trying to put it into words why I do almost prefer this scenario to lying in a hammock in some quiet resort somewhere along the river but I failed. I am more than happy to just accept it as it is though.

Vista from the balcony of my room no. 301. The dentist is the white and blue sign down in the middle
Heart 0 Comment 0
Why run around in the heat when the goodies are delivered to your doorsill? This gentleman cooks Lo Cha, similar to Pad Thai
Heart 2 Comment 0
The fine result served on styrofoam, best accompanied by an historic drink with the everpresent tuk tuks creating an authentic background
Heart 0 Comment 0
The dessert man followed soon after
Heart 2 Comment 0
When I came to Phnom Penh first 10 years ago the Central Market was still used as a market. Now it has deteriorated to a tourist attraction with corresponding stalls
Heart 1 Comment 0
But the real stuff is still round the corner from my guesthouse. The traditional cyclos are the major mean of transport to take the purchases home
Heart 1 Comment 0
Inside the market
Heart 3 Comment 0
Colonial Phnom Penh
Heart 4 Comment 0
Most toursits do visit the Royal Palace. Not good enough for me - I wanted to see King Sihamoni himself. If you look closely the Queen is waving to me from her backseat. I thought it was rather impolite he didn´t acknowledge my presence but...
Heart 1 Comment 0
.....he corrected that once back in his palace
Heart 2 Comment 0
I already posted one photo of the Preah Sisowath Quay when coming in on Sunday but spent so much time along there - here is one more looking southward
Heart 1 Comment 0
The lotus lady along the Quay
Heart 2 Comment 0
Zero and five star accommodation
Heart 1 Comment 0
The National Museum
Heart 0 Comment 0
As a cyclist trucks are your natural enemy. This one I didn´t mind
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Ounalom
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wat Ounalom
Heart 0 Comment 0
My daily breakfast: A fantastic dish doesn´t have to look spectacular. This noodle soup with fish is served in a little restaurant on the northwestern corner of the Royal Palace. Coming from the Mekong you walk the barred street along the wall of the Palace; cross the road on the corner; fourth building on the left. Mind you the soup is only served in the morning
Heart 2 Comment 0
My daily afternoon coffee with tea
Heart 2 Comment 0
My daily street restaurant for dinner: Right in the bar quarter, diagonally across from the Smile supermarket. He speaks good English and will prepare anything you ask for. My favourite: squid on morning glory
Heart 2 Comment 0
All thumbs up for the Flying Bikes 2 shop. Look at the shiny chain!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 km (12 miles)
Total: 3,155 km (1,959 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0