Joyeuse to Vaison la Romaine: The Ardeche Gorge - France - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2018

Joyeuse to Vaison la Romaine: The Ardeche Gorge

Today was a spectacular ride through much of the Ardèche gorge. We left a little earlier because it was going to be a long day and the tour leaders made a last minute change (not in my Garmin) for staring out. It was a bit confusing and my little group missed a quick left turn so we ended up with 8km of bonus mileage, so much for the early start. Once sorted out we rode down a very quiet country road that I was happy we didn’t miss. Once we arrived in Valllon Pont D’arc we climbed up above the gorge. I did this climb a few years ago on our cross France trip so I knew what was in store for us. The climb was about 4km long but it was consistently 10% with some sections even steeper. Once on top there were some amazing views of the gorge and the river below. Today was Sunday so there were many people in kayaks floating down the river, something for next time. We road about 20km through the gorge before turning off to the north. Last time we stayed in the gorge longer because we were heading south. We had to cross the Rhône river so our routing was dictated by the bridge locations. Again there was a good wind today. We had a lot of head and cross wind but once heading south it was a lovely tail wind to end the day. Glen thinks it might be a Mistral and if he is right we are going to have wind again tomorrow. Once we reached Vaison we headed for the town square for a “dirty beer”. In the square there were many cyclists all wearing the same jersey. It turned out that there was a Gran Fondo up Mt Ventoux today and the post ride celebrations were underway. Because of this event hotels were in short supply so our group was spilt in two. Unfortunately I got the short straw this time but I had a great room in Mende so it evens out. Nonetheless I had a great day and felt really strong at the end, stronger than my riding companions not that it matters. I paced myself well and managed my hydration and carb laoding appropriately. I hope I am as good tomorrow and the next day because they are not 100+km days.

As we were leaving town we ran into these guys.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first view of the Ardèche gorge complete with a rock archway and kayakers on the river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vallon de Pont D’arc
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me at the arch
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the top of the climb into the Ardèche gorge today and entirely different look than 4 years ago as you will see in the photo below.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view of the river below passing through the gorge. Lots of kayakers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bike on the bridge over the Rhône river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We rode much of a Tour de France stage for this year so there were many decorations. This is just one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another on a roundabout.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was a Gran Fondo event out of Vaison la Romaine today. It was 130km ride through the countryside but culminatiing on the top of Mt Ventoux. Once done they had another 30km back to Vaison. The town square where refuelling was going on.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The main sponsor of the event.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view of the castle and medieval town from our hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The castle ruins in Vaison la Romaine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Le Beffroi thé hotel where I was supposed to stay but I am not. I will be there next June with another tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bell rower in the old town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dessert of strawberry and pistachio mousse.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bike in 2014 when I last rode through here at the same spot as today. We stayed almost at the base of the climb so we rode up early in the AM and there was fog in the gorge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 120 km (75 miles)
Total: 1,315 km (817 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0