Day 86: Tobermory to Inverhuron - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2010

Day 86: Tobermory to Inverhuron

It was nice to have some company for the day, but Olaf and Danielle are headed in a different direction than me. I am going south and they will be heading east. So, we said our farewells and headed out separately. It was fun while it lasted.

It was another sunny, clear and warm day today. There was a headwind, but it diminished as the day progressed. The shoulder of the road was narrow to non-existant, but the traffic was mostly light. So, it was OK for Ontario, but poor for anywhere else. I did receive some help with directions along the way. At Hampton, a couple told me of a new bike path to Port Elgin. From there, a cyclist on a racing bike advised me on how to avoid the busy roads on the way to the campground. Both pieces of advice improved the experience.

I stayed at Inverhuron Provincial Park ($36.75). It may not be my favourite campground. I was placed as far from the water as possible and somebody here thought that it would be a good idea to spread 2 inches of gravel over the entire campsite.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=44.29914,-81.59705&ll=44.29914,-81.59705&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

A nice quiet back road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A dream come true - camping on gravel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 148 km (92 miles)
Total: 10,384 km (6,448 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0