Day 70: Winnipeg to Rennie - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2010

Day 70: Winnipeg to Rennie

I delayed my departure this morning due to a severe thunderstorm warning. After the storm passed, I was on my way. On the way out of town, I visited the legislature, the Forks and St. Boniface Basilica. I wound my way through town and took Highway 15 out of the city. Along the way a man in a pickup truck passed and stopped to talk. He was from Elma. He told me I had picked the worst possible day to cycle because it was a Friday and everyone was on the way to the cottage. I was hoping that I might find a campground at Elma, but he told me there was none there and that I was in trouble. Thanks.

I eventually got on the highway that led to Whiteshell Provincial Park. It seemed a bit far for today, so I stopped at Rennie just before the provincial park border and followed signs to a campground. When I got to the reception a lady came out and said that they normally don't accept tents, but they let cyclists stay for free. She was very friendly and seemed inspired by cyclists.

I felt tired and burned out today. Perhaps partially due to a couple of days of headwinds. I noticed that my heart rate was unusually high yesterday.

As a bonus today, a couple of deer ran just ahead of me beside the road for a couple of hundred metres on Highway 15.

I stayed at the Stony Pine Trailer Park & Campground (free!). Weather permitting, I would like to cycle past Kenora and stay at one of the provincial parks on Highway 71 in Ontario tomorrow.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=49.86537,-95.56848&ll=49.86537,-95.56848&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Manitoba Legislature Building.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Golden Boy atop the Manitoba Legislature Building.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Louis Riel led two armed rebellions against the Canadian government and was hanged for treason. Yet, there is a statue of him outside the Manitoba Legislature and Manitoba has a provincial holiday in his honour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
St. Boniface Basilica.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the facade of the Basilica.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Louis Riel's tomb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 135 km (84 miles)
Total: 8,468 km (5,259 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0