Day 60: Wabamun Lake to Elk Island National Park - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2010

Day 60: Wabamun Lake to Elk Island National Park

I passed through Edmonton today. I stopped off at the visitor information centre in Spruce Grove for directions to the MEC in Edmonton. Navigating through was not too bad. There are bike paths in the river valley. I stopped off at the MEC and loaded up on supplies - a new jersey, a chain, tent pegs, dehydrated meals and snacks. I then asked for advice for getting out of town.

I headed east out of Edmonton and then got off the busy highway by going north into Elk Island National Park. On the way through the park, there were a couple buffaloes with young who were blocking the road. It was a bit of a standoff. They did not seem too interested in moving and I was waiting to pass. It was a bit worrysome because I could see rain clouds approaching during the standoff. After about 5 or 10 minutes I was rescued when a car came by and frightened them off.

The ride in the National Park was very quiet compared to Yellowhead Highway. I should mention that my experience with the highways in Alberta is that they are well paved with nice wide shoulders.

I stayed at the Sandy Beach Campground in Elk Island National Park ($25). The big excitement for the evening was putting on a new chain. I kept the old one just in case of problems.

I hope to make it to Vermillion tomorrow and stay in the provincial campground there. It seems like a good set up.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=53.6766,-112.8251&ll=53.6766,-112.8251&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was a bit of a standoff. I wasn't about to approach a mother buffalo with its calf. It seemed perfectly happy and wasn't motivated to move. Notice the clouds in the background as a storm was moving in. A car came by after five or ten minutes and persuaded them to move off the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 137 km (85 miles)
Total: 6,971 km (4,329 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0