Day 45: Lake Labarge Campground to Whitehorse - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2010

Day 45: Lake Labarge Campground to Whitehorse

It was a short day into Whitehorse today. This is the first full service city I have seen in a long time. I pulled into Robert Service Campground ($18) and then went to town to buy things that I have been needing for a while. I visited the Icycle bike shop (gloves, socks), Coast Mountain Sport (fuel for stove, tent pegs, snacks, stuff sack, tablets to treat water), the grocery store of my dreams (as much food as I could carry) and the visitor centre (weather looks like it will be OK for the next few days). Whew!

I phoned home to see how everyone is. All is well. My mother said that Andy Schleck lost 39 seconds on the Tourmalet when his chain came off. It seems that I am missing an exciting tour this year. My father was impressed that I stayed at Lake Labarge.

I called Ray and Brenda. They came into town and bought me dinner at a Lebanese restaurant. They have been incredibly kind to me.

I should be able to make it to Johnson Crossing tomorrow, but it would be better to make it a bit further to the Teslin Lake government campsite.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=60.70181,-135.04521&ll=60.70181,-135.04521&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lake Laberge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My campsite in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More of Lake Laberge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
End of the Klondike Higway. I'm back on the Alcan.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 4,836 km (3,003 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0