Day 33: Nitainlaii Territorial Park to Caribou Creek Campground - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2010

Day 33: Nitainlaii Territorial Park to Caribou Creek Campground

Some neighbours arrived at the campground late last night. They made enough noise that I found it annoying. However, when I bumped into them this morning I suppressed the urge to be rude. I'm glad that I did (as is always the case). It turns out that one of them is an artisan (a knife maker) who is headed up to the Great Northern Arts Festival. His name is George Roberts and he owns and operates Bandit Blades. Gary is a friend and big knife fan who is helping him out at the show. I might see them again in Inuvik.

http://www.banditblades.com/

There was lots of gravel on the roads, but they were pretty good in general. I stopped in at Fort MacPherson to get some snacks for the day. The weather was decent until after the MacKenzie River ferry crossing. It began to rain a bit after that. About 75 km before Inuvik a pickup headed towards me slowed down and stopped. It turned out to be Robert Alexie! He was returning from his meeting in Inuvik and seemed impressed with the progress I had made.

I checked out the Rengleng River along the way. It seems to be a fishing campsite and would be a good place to wild camp. I continued on because I wanted to get closer to Inuvik. I also contemplated continuing on to Inuvik. However, I would arrive late and might have problems finding a place to stay. It seemed best to stop within a short ride to Inuvik. I could then arrive early and get a place to stay and settle in. I stayed at the Caribou Creek Campground. I am the only one here tonight. It's only 51 km to Inuvik and the last 10 km are paved. It should be do-able.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=68.08818,-133.48814&ll=68.08818,-133.48814&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Mosquitoes love this stuff.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching the MacKenzie River. The town of Tsiigehtchic is on the other side of the river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The license plates are actually shaped like polar bears.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were lots of views like this on the MacKenzie Valley Delta.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 149 km (93 miles)
Total: 3,482 km (2,162 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0