Day 3: Nanaimo to Courtney - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2010

Day 3: Nanaimo to Courtney

There was rain overnight. I left my bike computer on my bike overnight by accident. It didn't work in the morning. So, I guess I'll have to use my spare. I was hoping the original would last a little longer.

The roads were mostly dry but there were some wet spots. When I got to Parksville I was considering going west to Tofino. I stopped in at the tourist information centre and the weather forecast looked OK for getting there, but it would be raining there for a couple of days when I wanted to return. I went outside and looked at the sky. It looked black to the west and clear to the north. North it is!

I followed highway 19A as much as possible. I stayed at Puntledge RV ($21). It's a nice place. It's pretty empty right now. It's probably not peak season yet.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=49.69797,-125.00255&ll=49.69797,-125.00255&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

A sparkling clean drive train.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 112 km (70 miles)
Total: 181 km (112 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0