Day 22: Twin Lakes to Pelly Crossing - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2010

Day 22: Twin Lakes to Pelly Crossing

I spoke with the gentleman whose daughter parked her vehicle on my campsite this morning. He came to the Yukon in 1975 and has been here ever since. He has worked at a number of different jobs (welding, gold mining, etc.) but he has always been employed.

I stopped off at the Five Finger Rapids. It was particularly interesting since they were described in a couple of Pierre Berton books that I have read recently - 'Klondike' and 'Drifting Home'. While I was there, I met a couple from Great Britain. His great, great, great, great (4 greats) grandfather was Pelly the chief factor of the Hudson's Bay Company and also the chief of the Bank of England. The Pelly Mountains, Pelly River and Pelly Crossing were named after him. His descendant was here to see them although the original never made it here. They are visiting from Brighton England.

As I was descending towards Pelly, I met a couple on a tandem - Alan and Erin. They were leaving Pelling Crossing as I was pulling into it. They met the Pelly couple as well, although they met them at a small monument commemorating the original Pelly. They started in Inuvik and are cycling to South America. They had actually heard of me from the Pelly couple. I was the first touring cyclist that have met on their trip. They gave me their card and took my picture. They also advised me on the Dempster Highway. It took them 10 days to complete the ride, which is a bit longer that I was planning on. I was thinking that it might take me 6 or 7 days in one direction.

http://www.2totango.net/

http://www.2totango.net/2010/07/

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4139/4749672600_b5e6e965eb.jpg

I stayed that the Pelly Campground for free! It is just before the bridge. It looks like an old Yukon Territory campground that is no longer maintained by anyone. There are a lot of stray dogs here. It is fairly convenient as the general store is right across the street.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=62.82544,-136.58426&ll=62.82544,-136.58426&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Five Finger Rapids
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 158 km (98 miles)
Total: 2,250 km (1,397 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0