Day 118: East! - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 30, 2010

Day 118: East!

The day started out foggy with wet roads. The fog cleared around 10am. Then it was cloudy and reasonably warm.

I took Hwy1 to exit 41 (Hwy 2) to Topsail Drive and then followed roads east and then followed signs to Cape Spear. I made my way out to the official sign marking the eastern most point in North America (if you pretend Greenland is not part of North America). I took some victory pictures and then phoned my parents and work to bask in the glory.

After my celebration, there was not much to do other than head for the St. John's hostel. Along the way I stopped in at the tourism office to clarify directions and ask where the monument to where Terry Fox started his run was. I checked in at the hostel where I had a private room ($174 for 2 nights) and then went off in search of the Terry Fox Memorial. It's quite modest and hard to find. You actually have to go through a parking lot next to a building to get there. Parks Canada has plans to make this more elaborate.

http://www.pc.gc.ca/culture/proj/tfox/mile.aspx

Back at the hostel, I met an Australian cyclist named Neridah. We talked for a bit, then went out for some dinner. She is a sea kayak instructor. She left Vancouver in April by bike and cycled to Halifax. She flies out on Saturday morning and is on her way to Churchill Manitoba where she'll work as a waitress and plans to watch polar bears. She seems to be live for the moment. Very impressive.

Furthest East:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=47.5242,-52.621&ll=47.5242,-52.621&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Almost there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first glimpse of the lighthouse at Cape Spear. This marks the most eastern point in Canada.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking towards St. John's.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking east.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm feeling a lot of things here. Especially pride of the accomplishment and relief/happiness that it is over. I'm also looking forward to getting back to my regular life and seeing family and friends again. A bit of sadness that it was over may have come later, but I was able to keep myself busy enough over the next couple of days that I didn't notice it. Here, I mainly look happy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I tried to find the spot where I took a picture at the start of my cross-Canada trip in 2001. I was coming from Cape Spear, it was noon, I was drenched in sweat and despite riding all morning, I was still in St. John's. I remember wondering what I had got myself into. It was a very different feeling here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The marker for the eastern end of the Trans-Canada Trail. I was at the northern end of it way back on day 35.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bike at the monument marking where Terry Fox began his run.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 113 km (70 miles)
Total: 14,368 km (8,923 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0