Day 113: Deer Lake to Springdale - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 25, 2010

Day 113: Deer Lake to Springdale

The weather forecast sounded pretty ominous yesterday. There was an overnight frost warning with showers and a headwind predicted. Fortunately, none of this materialized. There was even a mild tailwind. It was cloudy all day and cool in the morning, but it did warm up.

There were a few gentle climbs along the way. The road had a good shoulder the whole way.

A disaster relief truck passed me and there was a Navy bus as well. Presumably, they are on the way to help with the clean up of Hurricane Igor.

I saw a moose today, but it ran off before I could take pictures. I had a nice meal of fish and chips from a road side vehicle at the intersection of highways 1 and 490.

The big highlight today was staying at the Indian River Brook Bed and Breakfast ($89). After I had settled into my room, I went downstairs and asked if I could use the kitchen to cook myself some spaghetti. The host (Doreen) said she had some leftovers and offered me some. How could I refuse? She served moose meat, baked potatoes and vegetables. Her husband had shot the moose and the potatoes were from neighbours. After dinner, I had a good chat with Doreen and her mother. The people here are very self-reliant. They grow their own food. Doreen was concerned that many people now buy everything from stores. They are also fiercely proud of their Newfoundland heritage. She told me a story about being stuck in a boat on a sandbar. To get off, they had to throw cargo overboard, pump water and then they were able to right themselves at high tide.

Later in the evening, Doreen put on a musical show. She sang, played a dance-master, ugly stick, spoons and a board from the cupboard. It was a great evening of entertainment. If you are in the area, I highly recommend staying there.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g970167-d1173504-Reviews-Indian_River_Brook_B_B-Springdale_Newfoundland_and_Labrador.html

Endpoint:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=49.49523,-56.17545&ll=49.49523,-56.17545&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dancing man.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Doreen playing the ugly stick.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Playing the spoons.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Doreen playing a flexible piece of plastic.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 117 km (73 miles)
Total: 13,809 km (8,575 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0