Day 111: Port aux Basque to Robinson Nfld - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 23, 2010

Day 111: Port aux Basque to Robinson Nfld

I met up with Jarrod on the way off the ship. He told me of the Tim's just a few minutes from the ship. We met up at Tim's and spoke a bit before I headed off. He also recommended the Annapolis Valley for cycling.

I continued on to the Visitor Information Centre. It was closed, but I stayed until it opened. I was able to make a hotel reservation. It was nice to have the comfort of knowing I have a place to stay. I am getting here rather late in the season. All the provincial campgrounds closed on September 15.

When I spoke to the lady at the Information Centre, she said that she expects the Trans-Canada will be open today. It makes sense that this is a priority to open. It will be the main artery to get help to the Burrard Inlet and other areas damaged by Hurricane Igor. So, it looks like I will be able to get to St. John's. I don't know if the road to Cape Spear will be open though.

It was very windy today. The forecast was for winds of 40 km/h gusting to 69 km/h. For the first 20 km I averaged only 10 km/h. After that the road turned north. From then on it was mostly a tailwind.

I stayed at the Midway Motel ($55) near Robinson. The report said that the last section of the Trans-Canada was opened at 4:00 PM today.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=48.24314,-58.71085&ll=48.24314,-58.71085&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

A truck on the way to help out victims of Hurricane Igor.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jarrod, who showed me the way to the ferry. He came over to Newfoundland to take pictures of ships and will be headed back to Nova Scotia tomorrow.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Port aux Basques
Heart 0 Comment 0
Getting closer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Table Mountains.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 160 km (99 miles)
Total: 13,532 km (8,403 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0