Day 11: Kitwanga to Meziadin Lake Provincial Park - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2010

Day 11: Kitwanga to Meziadin Lake Provincial Park

It was a cool 5 degrees outside when I woke up. It was sunny all day, but it remained cool. I wore my long pants all day.

I said goodbye to Neil from the RV next door in the morning. They honked and waved when they passed me about 70 km down the road.

Lots of wildlife today. I saw a coyote from a distance. I was on a descent, and came around the bend and there was a black bear in the crossing the road ahead. It was one or two hundred metres ahead of me. A while later, I hear what I thought was a dog barking. I looked up to see a bear cub scramble up the slopes and disappear into the bushes. The mother looked at me and then turned and followed it. I did not see a hump at the shoulders, so I believe that it was a black bear.

At about 90 km the chain started to make noises and was about to break. I was able to pull over at a convenient location. It also seemed to be very convenient for the mosquitoes. I removed 2 links, oiled the chain and was on my way as quickly as possible.

I stayed at Meziadin Lake Provincial Park ($16). When I was picking out my campsite for the night, a lady told me that a grizzly bear had wandered into park yesterday. I decided to camp next to the campground hosts.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=56.08691,-129.30859&ll=56.08691,-129.30859&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

The Seven Sisters
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Seven Sisters from just north of Kitwanga
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 150 km (93 miles)
Total: 904 km (561 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0