Day 108: Charlottetown to Antigonish - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2010

Day 108: Charlottetown to Antigonish

I got up early and cycled to the ferry. It cost $20 for me and my bike to go to Nova Scotia.

It took me a while to figure out, but the highways in Nova Scotia are numbered differently than in New Brunswick. Here, Highway 104 is the Trans-Canada and Highway 4 is the quieter road that parallels it. It is the other way around in New Brunswick (unless my memory fails me).

I made a reservation at the Nova Scotia Visitor Centre in Picton. They were quite helpful there. I stayed at the Oasis Motel and Campground (in a room) ($74.75). It is a decent place and has everything I need. When I checked in, the gentleman said that there were two lady cyclists here last Thursday or Friday from Langley BC. I suspect that it is Esther and Clare who I met on the ferry to Prince Rupert. If they took the ferry to Port aux Basque, I could catch them. The gentleman said I am getting near the end of the cycling season.

I had a flat today at 83 km. I replaced the tube, but never found the cause.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=45.6037,-61.94385&ll=45.6037,-61.94385&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
From the ferry leaving PEI.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View at the 13,000 km mark.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunset in Antigonish.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 142 km (88 miles)
Total: 13,174 km (8,181 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0