Day 107: Cap Pele to Charlottetown PEI - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 19, 2010

Day 107: Cap Pele to Charlottetown PEI

I started early today, hoping to get across Confederation Bridge early. It turned out that today was the day of the Terry Fox Run and the bridge was closed to motor vehicles. I was hoping that they might let me go across on my own power. However, they would not let me ride across or walk across. Furthermore, when I called for the shuttle for cyclists they said that they would not be able to cross the bridge for another couple of hours, so I was stuck. I don't imagine that the shuttle would be on time due to the backlog of motor vehicles trying to cross the bridge.

I have to admit it was rather frustrating. It was not possible to cross whether the bridge was closed or open to motor vehicles. It's sort of hard to believe that they spent $1 billion on a bridge and they don't accommodate bicycle traffic.

Thankfully, a nice gentleman from the interpretive centre suggested visiting the centre and a walk along the boardwalk. It helped ease my sense of frustration. He also arranged for a bus driver who was transporting walkers over the bridge to take me across. So, I got across a bit early. Once across, I got off the Trans-Canada onto smaller roads to avoid the big backlog of cars.

I eventually made it to Charlottetown and headed for the hostel. It turned out it was full, but they were able to direct me to Ambrose Traveller's Home ($50). It worked well. It was a nice room with a shared bathroom and a quick ride to the grocery store.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=46.23822,-63.13162&ll=46.23822,-63.13162&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Confederation Bridge to Prince Edward Island. It is roughly 10 km long. No bicycles allowed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today was the day of the Terry Fox Run.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Confederation Bridge again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A red dirt road in PEI.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 108 km (67 miles)
Total: 13,032 km (8,093 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0