Day 105: Fredricton to Sussex - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 17, 2010

Day 105: Fredricton to Sussex

It was raining in the morning when I started out. I took the pedestrian bridge (an old railway bridge I believe) away from town and headed east along Highway 105. The highlight of the ride was spotting a moose along the Saint John River. Thankfully, the rain stopped around noon.

Along the way, I stopped at an information centre at the junction of Highway 10 and Highway 2. They were very helpful and booked me a hotel in Sussex, so I didn't have to worry about where I would stay. As a bonus, they had maps for PEI, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland. The gentleman running the place was also able to advise me on a small, quiet detour I could take that would take me over a covered bridge. A first rate place.

There was some sad news today. I read of a cyclist who was killed on Highway 7 south of Fredricton.

http://www.cbc.ca/m/rich/news/story/2010/09/17/nb-fatal-cyclist-grand-bay-westfield-rcmp-1020.html

I stayed at Covered Bridge Inn Motel ($67.80). It's right next to a pizza joint!

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=45.72153,-65.50024&ll=45.72153,-65.50024&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

An old railway bridge converted to a pedestrian/cyclist bridge. It goes over the Saint John River in Fredricton.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Moose by the Saint John River.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are many covered bridges in the area. The gentleman at the tourist site suggested a small detour to see this one. The tourist info centre is at the intersection of Highways 10 and 2. They are very helpful.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 126 km (78 miles)
Total: 12,787 km (7,941 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0