Day 1: Vancouver Airport to Granville Island: Starting out - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2010

Day 1: Vancouver Airport to Granville Island: Starting out

I packed last night in a mad rush of adrenaline. This morning I was able to simply call a cab and go to the airport. The check-in with Westjet went without incident - they did not even charge me for the bicycle (but they did give me a warning).

I landed in Vancouver, picked up my baggage and proceded outside to assemble my bicycle. Everything seemed to work ok. As I was finishing, a gentleman with a bike set up beside me and started assembling his bike. He was cycling home to Montreal. I cycled out to the Granville Island Hotel and got there without any problems. Vancourver seems to have a better network of bike routes than Toronto and is more bike friendly in general.

When I arrived at the hotel, there was a message waiting for me. I called my friend and she came by and we went out for some lunch. She then took me around to MEC so I could do some last minute shopping. I picked up some bear spray, a trowel and a couple of dehydrated meals. We went out a mid-afternoon meal at a Greek restaurant. We then went for a walk by English Bay where I cleverly left my camera on a park bench. A quick sprint back and I found a note under a rock with a number. Several stress-filled minutes later I was re-united with my camera.

My assembled bike at the airport.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 km (15 miles)
Total: 24 km (15 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0