Day 11: there can’t be TWO nor’easters in the same week, can there? - Downeast Maine and the East Coast Greenway - CycleBlaze

October 16, 2019

Day 11: there can’t be TWO nor’easters in the same week, can there?

(Spoiler alert) yes, there can

I would gladly pay some money; to have another day that’s sunny; but with this morn; comes another storm; I swear, this is no longer funny. 

Sure, I could ride from Danbury to Yonkers today in the rain. Sure, I would get wet and have to clean the drivetrain, bike, and myself. Sure, I could hole up in the Ramada Inn room drying out and catching up on Netflix. But why? I have family in the area who are willing to host me and there’s public transportation I can take to get to my next destination (mom’s house). So I figure why have a miserable day getting wet and dirty and not being able to take pictures when I can see family, cook a nice meal in the house where I grew up, and have a glass (or two ) of wine. I choose fun.

The “bomb” (their words, not mine) nor’easter
Heart 0 Comment 0
Second one in a week. Yes, apparently it does happen
Heart 0 Comment 0
The rain picture today. I’m getting used to seeing green and yellow overlaid over my map view
Heart 0 Comment 0

So, yeah, I threw in the towel today. Not because I couldn’t ride in the rain, I just didn’t want to. I really wanted to finished this trip as I’m a completionist, but at what cost? The only person who would be miserable would be me, and what for? To be able to post in a journal that I was able to suffer so people could see me suffer in the rain? And to be honest, they wouldn’t even see that because with the rain, I would stash my iPhone 6 away in a waterproof pocket and would not take any pictures anyway. Instead, I made the decision to call it with the second impending storm forcing a cancelation. I’ll tell you how bad it was - my brother is a sound engineer for ESPN and he was scheduled to work the playoff series at Yankee stadium - he drove me into the city to make his call time AND THE GAME WAS CALLED ON ACCOUNT OF RAIN. So there, if canceling is good enough for ESPN and the playoffs, it’s good enough for me.

So, today’s events - a drive from Danbury to Yankee Stadium, 5hen I took the D train to 34th st (Penn Station) and got a ticket on NJ Transit to Hamilton, where my mom picked me up. I packed up the bike in he back of her car (got rather soaked doing it, even in record time). Then we hit Traders Joe’s to get ingredients for dinner and I cooked her some pasta with olive oil, gaflic, basil, and grape tomatoes. It was a good night after all. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0