West Newton to Pittsburgh - Pittsburgh Wasn’t There, Yet - CycleBlaze

October 6, 2021

West Newton to Pittsburgh

Day 8

    The final push. I plan to ride into Pittsburgh with Jon and Lisa.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Her tire goes flat and Jon replaces the tube in record time. A mile or two down the road it goes flat again. As they head back to the bike shop in West Newton, I go solo toward the ‘burgh. The ride quickly becomes a lot less rural after passing Boston PA. The trail becomes paved and less obvious. The surroundings get more industrial and urban. The other bikers are less quick with a hearty good morning. I get a little turned around in McKeesport. Don’t go over the bridge under construction.

     I download someone's RideWithGPS route and get back on track by following it. The signage could use improvement through McKeesport in the northern direction.

Heart 1 Comment 0

    I have a good lunch in some diner-style chain called Eat N Play right on the trail. In Pittsburgh, I pedal up what someone has spray painted “Last Hill” on the asphalt. This leads to the Hot Metal Bridge.

   When I stop to take a photo, a bicyclist asks me about my travels.

Pittsburgh from the Hot Metal Bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0

I ride with Dan and he shows me the new ramp down to the waterfront that avoids the streets. A few minutes later I am at the Point and my destination has been reached. Dan says it’s a tradition to jump in the river after an epic ride. I tell him that isn’t happening. Then Dan admits that he made up the tradition. Pittsburgh humor, good stuff.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 276 miles (444 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Glenn HintonThere's always a goading Dan.
A spectacular journey!
Bravo.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago