06/06/23 Mesa Campground to Silver City - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2023

06/06/23 Mesa Campground to Silver City

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was on the road a little after 7 with an energy bar for breakfast and the intent to get more in Miembres, about 20 miles further on. 

It was a pretty ride, but a headwind all morning made it slow.  There were only closed places in Miembres, but I was told about 3 Questions in San Lorenzo, 2 miles further on. It’s a church which operates a bakery and daily breakfast buffet. The bakery sells the usual, and the buffet is free to whoever wants to eat. As much as you like. Pancakes, sausage, eggs, green chile stew! I embarrassed myself and then atoned with a donation.

After leaving San Lorenzo I turned west towards Silver City and finally picked up some tailwinds. I got into Silver City in the afternoon and found a place to stay for two nights. I want to get caught up on the blog, do laundry, resupply and plan for the next leg.  Two weeks into this trip and still in southern New Mexico, I feel like I’m behind my non-existent schedule!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty here
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pay what you choose breakfast buffet!
Heart 0 Comment 0
John and his son are on a 10 day motorcycle trip from Texas
Heart 1 Comment 0
Trail of the Mountain Spirits scenic bypass
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 526 miles (847 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0