Fontvielle to Avignon: Last ride - Cycling Provence - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2017

Fontvielle to Avignon: Last ride

Today was my last riding day on this trip to France. It turned out to be a very interesting day for several reasons. I left Fontvielle a little early to allow extra time to tour Les Baux and St Rémy de Provence two very special places. My plan took a turn when the cue sheets failed me. There have been several off road on track sections on this trip so when I had another one today I followed it. This one did not work. The signage was wrong and the track was so bad it was impossible to ride. I went up and down for 45min trying to figure it out before I gave up and went back to the road. The moral of the story is that cue sheets can be wrong, when you can't find your way go back to where you knew for sure that you were right and know how to read a map so you can create your own route. Once I sorted myself out I made it to Les Baux de Provence which is a very special place. The village of the Baux de Provence is located on a rocky plateau 245m high. You can enjoy amazing views of Arles and the Camargue from the look-out points ! The village is classified as "one of the most beautiful villages in France". Its cultural heritage is exceptionally rich, with 22 architectural treasures classified as "Historic Monuments". The Château des Baux is in one of the finest situations, with views across the Provençal countryside down to the sea. This impressive historic monument is set in a 7-hectare site. The castle itself was modified and restored at different times during the 12th, 13th and 16th centuries. They have an impressive collection (reproductions) of medieval weaponry and they do re-enactments with these weapons but in weekends only. I also did a little retail therapy even though don't have much room in my suitcase. After Les Baux I went to St Rémy de Provence another special village in this region. Saint Remy de Provence is situated in the heart of the Alpilles, Saint Rémy is one of the must-sees in Provence. Surrounded by lush green perfumed valleys, its ancient streets are lined with beautifully restored old houses. On the southern outskirts of the city, the ruins of the Roman city of Glanum can still be seen. The ruins have seen the passing of several civilizations and you can visit the "grands Thermes", the long residential avenue, the temple and the natural spring of a true gallo-roman city, dating from 30 to 10 years before Christ. I wandered the town and had a relaxing lunch in the town square. Finally it was off to Avignon to conclude the cycling. My bike is packed, the cues sheets are turned in and I am enjoying a glass of wine. Tomorrow I take the train to Lyon and fly to Canada on Sat. I will conclude my golf with one more post summing up my three week trip to southern France. The stars for today were 64km and 1600ft. Today had some climbing which I much prefer to flat routes.

Chateau d'Estoublon an incidental finding this AM. It is a winery, olive mill and hotel but it is closed 8-12 June for a private affair.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finally some of the famous Priovence lavender.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of several catapult reproductions.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This fellow in period costume is explaining all of the medieval weapons to school children.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view of village of Les Baux from the Castle turret.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The shop of my retail therapy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Les Baux over my left shoulder.
Heart 0 Comment 0
St Rémy de Provence.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More St Rémy de Provence.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Les Baux de Provence with les Alpilles in the distance. Les Alpilles are a small, low range of limestone "mountains" that rise sharply out of the Rhône valley.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A lovely square in St Rémy where I had a light lunch today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 939 km (583 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0