Losing it - Swan Song for the Jetta - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2018

Losing it

Lost and Found 

At the start of this journal, I briefly mentioned that we are having an issue with getting rid of the Jetta at the end of the summer: we (I, most likely) lost the title to the car.  The probable cause was sloppiness in cleaning out files and unneeded paperwork when we downsized.  Frustrating, and more so because trying to get a replacement is proving to be a pain in the tailpipe.  DMV charges about $90 for a replacement title, and it takes about 45 days.  We submitted our application in March, before leaving for Greece; but when we returned home we found out it had been rejected because DMV thinks Volkswagen has a lien on the car.  Apparently we don’t own it after all.  To get a title, we’ll have to provide a statement from VW disavowing an interest.

Our theory is that this stems back to the original purchase - we think we took advantage of a zero interest offer for the first year, and didn’t pay it off until that period expired.  Something apparently went amiss fifteen years ago, and DMV never got the message.

VW agrees that they don’t have an interest, but things are going slowly on that front and we haven’t received documentation yet.  In all likelihood we won’t get it before leaving town this weekend.  Meaning we won’t resubmit our title application until we return in August, and won’t have a title until after leaving for Europe.  So, we’re making plans for what to do with the car for five months this fall, since we can’t sell or donate it in time.  So all of that is quite vexing.

We actually lost a number of things during the move and the months afterwards.  We’ve never really gotten an effective system for keeping track of our belongings when we’ve moved from one temporary home to another.  It’s been the hardest thing about being homeless for us.

This week has been more of the same on that front; and in fact we’re both losing our minds over here.  Last week I lost my new long sleeved cycling jersey, something I haven’t mentioned before.  I was embarrassed to mention it because it’s a replacement for one I lost Not long ago - in France last fall I think, but I’ve forgotten now.  I’ve done some mental and physical backtracking of our activities this past week, without success.  Very discouraging.

We started packing for Canada this afternoon, and Rachael couldn’t find her rain boots.  We looked everywhere, and unpacked everything, without success.  Very discouraging.

Finally, I found one unexplored nook - under a bench in the hallway.  They were under there!  Apparently they’d gotten kicked or shoved beneath it somehow.  Next to them was the missing jersey.

We enjoyed a blissful ten minutes or so, basking in the glow of finding our missing belongings and feeling like maybe we’re not senescent yet after all.  Until we started looking for our passports.  Ten minutes later, we’re still looking and starting to panic.  They’re not where I thought I put them, nor anywhere else we could think of.  Finally with great relief we found them - in my bike bag already, packed and ready to go.  I remember now that I put them there the first thing when we checked in so we wouldn’t screw up and arrive at the Canadian border without them.

Not lost!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Still no car title though.  But, brain flash, I think I may know where it is. Looking for the passport and finding I’d intentionally hidden it from myself makes me think I may have done that what the car title also.  I’ll bet it’s in our safe deposit box at the bank, and I forgot I put it there so it wouldn’t get lost.  I can’t wait until Thursday to find out.

Mount Tabor

Meanwhile, back to the camera.  It was a bit unnerving to have a spoiled batch from a brand new camera, so I’m still experimenting with it.  I bought a new memory card, hoping that this is the issue, and plan to use the camera in the coming days and watch for a recurrence of the problem.  Today I went out on my own in the neighborhood again, and then up to Mount Tabor.

So far, so good.

The nondenominational Old Laurelhurst Church: built in 1923, it’s an outstanding example of the Spanish Colonial Revival style.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The lilacs are taking over. The navigation sign is all but obliterated.
Heart 3 Comment 0
There are some real estates along the west flank of Mount Tabor. Not sure what I think of this one - it’s a pretty confusing mix of styles.
Heart 4 Comment 0
OK, Andrea. So what’s this guy?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Andrea BrownCotinus coggygria, aka Smoke Bush.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownTook you long enough. The suspense has been terrible.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
In Laurelhurst Park: fifty shades of green
Heart 3 Comment 0
Some of the trees near Mount Tabor are really impressive. This is a red oak, and a designated heritage tree. I wish the plaques included estimated planting dates, but this guy has obviously been here a good long while.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another designated heritage tree, a block up from the red oak. This one is a giant sequoia. Duh.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Davis Street entrance to Mount Tabor is new to me. Amazing to stumble across a new access after all these years.
Heart 3 Comment 0
One of a pair of redtails soaring low over the Mount Tabor reservoir. At first I was disappointed to not have the super zoom with me, but this is really pretty good. It must be because this camera is 20 megapixels with the same zoom range (3x) and the old one had only 10.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesYeah, this one's pretty good I'd say.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
There’s a loop up and around Mount Tabor that’s almost like a criterium course. Bikers on a mission whizzed past often, soon slowing down when they hit the hill.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Same guys, different questions.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I could do this, but I haven’t studied how to take selfies with the new camera yet.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A Postscript

I forgot that there’s more to the saga of the lost items.  Soon after checking into our new Airbnb, Rachael realized that she had lost her prescription glasses she wears where riding.  They’re a wide, large, and a bit ungainly but they’re effective windshields.  Same script - look everywhere, think back on where we’ve been, get discouraged, give up.  She finally ordered a new set, which she’s quite excited about - but they likely won’t arrive before we leave for Canada in a few days.

Just now, I went to put on my shoes, which I keep by the bench in the hall.  Next to them were her missing glasses!  They must have also been under the bench, and were pulled out along with her rain boots and jersey.  Incredible.

Not lost either! It’s pretty dizzying having these lost artifacts resurface one by one.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 17
Eva WaltersHi Scott and Rachael,

I really enjoy reading your journals and am intrigued by the photo of Rachael's prescription cycling glasses. I don't wear my glasses while cycling as I'm worried about breakage. Yours look unbreakable. Are they plexiglass? Do you wear sunglasses over them or do they darken in the sunshine? I'd be interested to know where you order them from. Thanks for the information, and best wishes for your Canadian tour.

Eva
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Eva WaltersThanks for following along, Eva!

Rachael will look into this and get back to you, but they’re quite robust. Safe from nearly everything but us. They do darken well. I think she started with a stock pair of sunglasses and had prescription lenses added, but she’ll check and let you know.

Cheers,
Scott
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Eva WaltersSo you live in Nelson? Will you be in town when we come through? We’ll be there on three nights - July 31st and August 3rd and 10th. We’re booked at an airbnb, but we might get together for a meal or drink.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Bruce LellmanI enjoy your stories as well. I admire your gift; how you can take a simple subject and write an engaging story. Your ability to laugh at yourself is also to be admired. Should we all be as humble.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Eva WaltersTo Scott AndersonYes, we live 30 km outside of Nelson near the Kootenay Lake ferry. Al and I would enjoy meeting you in Nelson for dinner one of those evenings. We'll keep in touch.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Eva WaltersSounds great. I suspect the 3rd or 10th would work better for us, because our days are shorter. See you soon.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanPlenty to laugh at, alright. I try to regularly serve myself fresh material to keep my skills sharp.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Suzanne GibsonGreat stories of lost things! I find as I get older, habit replaces memory, like: always place your cycling gloves and sun glasses next to your handlebar bag when you return home. It seems in your new life as nomads, you don't have many habits to rely on.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Eva WaltersTo Scott Anderson
If we meet on August 3, our friends and fellow Bike Friday riders, the Perrins, could join us for dinner. I believe you have corresponded with Roland a few times in the last year or so. They have recently returned from a six week tour in Greece, so you might enjoy comparing notes.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Eva WaltersThat would be amazing. We’d love that. We’ll put it on our calendar, and plan to be available by 5. We have a reasonably short day then (from Trail, via Castlegar) so we shouldn’t have any trouble being in town in time. Any place you suggest as a venue is fine with us (as long as it serves beer or wine).

Could you send me an email with your phone number, so we can reach you in case something comes up at the last minute?

Also, back on Rachael’s glasses. They’re Oakley Flak sunglass frames, with prescription lenses.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Eva WaltersTo Scott AndersonThank you for the sunglasses info. If you let me know how to access your email address, I'll be happy to send you our phone number. (I'd rather not post it here publicly.) We'll look forward to meeting both of you on August 3.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Eva WaltersOh. I thought it was available on the website for some reason, but I guess not. Scoandpdx@gmail.com
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Ron SuchanekI enjoy the way you described the lost items... Very engaging. Jen and I go nuts when we lose something.
I'm glad it all turned up, and I'm interested to hear whether the title is in the safe deposit box.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Ron SuchanekBut as long as the valuable bottle opener is safe, no worries, says Jen.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Ron SuchanekNice you could find some enjoyment out of our unease, Ron. And how are those headwinds doing, and the rowdy drunks in the campgrounds?

Nope, no title. Permanently lost, apparently.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Ron SuchanekOh, I forgot to mention - we left it at Willow Grove Park for you. Lewis and Clark passed by there, so I assume you will too; and this way you’ll get it sooner than if we wait until the hostile actors meet again. If you can find it.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonWe will be on the lookout!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago