Day 59: Teton RV Park to Jackson: Text here, too! - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2006

Day 59: Teton RV Park to Jackson: Text here, too!

Guess I overslept this morning, but at least I slept! I woke up at 5:15 and heard people start to move around soon after. Then all of a sudden it was quiet and daylight. Daylight = heat, so it was warm enough to get out of the tent and discover I'd missed the sunrise on the Tetons, see frost on things outside, and figure out that everybody else was gone for breakfast at the campground cooking area. Condensation on the inside of the fly started dripping on me, so I got out of bed and headed to the campground breakfast, too, taking a little flack for the drool mark left on my face (someone asked me if sleeping beauty had slept well).

I was so slow getting packed up... didn't feel 100% and had little motivation to get on the road early for a short 40 mile day, but I did finally get the drool off and pulled out of camp around 11.

---[OK, so I was dragging this morning because I didn't really feel that well. I had a headache and cramps and just wanted to curl up in a ball for a while until my drugs kicked in. Based on experience, I knew I'd be ok in a couple of hours, so I laid down for a while then took my time packing and repacking things. Erie noticed that I didn't feel well and was going on and on about how the food at the campground must have been bad since Ron wasn't feeling well either. Or maybe it was food from the day before that had us both feeling bad. Or some other bug going around. She just kept speculating for a while until I finally interrupted and said that unless Ron had suddenly become a woman overnight, we were suffering from completely different ailments! Once my drugs kicked in, I was ok, but poor Ron had a flat on the way out of camp, so I think he had a pretty rough day.]---

Then off to the Tetons and some great, spectacular, awesome scenery that absolutely can't be captured by camera (at least not by me). Today's ride through the park was just great--good company, respectful traffic, incredible views. Saw a couple of people from the group, but they're camped out somewhere different tonight. I'd been with them 3 days again, so time to move on.

I got to Jackson after a ride on a busy but safely shouldered highway after leaving the park, got checked into the hostel, and showered before heading on to check out the town. Didn't make it more than a couple of blocks before running into Patrick from the group and his girlfriend Meagan--I almost didn't recognize him in normal clothes. We went out for drinks and they took me out for a great dinner of good food and better stories, partly in celebration of me hitting the 3000 mile mark earlier in the day.

I'm back at the hostel late, apparently pretty near a snorer, but I should sleep fine anyway. Almost 80 miles of headwind one day followed by the 2nd highest pass of the trip the next left my body tired even after just over 40 mostly flat/downhill miles today. Resting tomorrow and checking out the town...sleepy joy

Kert, Joy, Alvin, and Donkey start into the park
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ain't they purdy? No way to capture how beautiful all this is...
Heart 3 Comment 0
Well...looks like I made it to the Pacific after all!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I don't know how many pictures I took here...this was so awesome...
Heart 3 Comment 0
Me at just over 3000 miles. Can you believe that? I rode my bike 3000 miles!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Patrick and Meagan at our spot overlooking the square in Jackson
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 3,028 miles (4,873 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0