Day 6: Lexington, VA to Troutville, VA - Crossing The Country On A Cannondale - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2006

Day 6: Lexington, VA to Troutville, VA

46.63 miles, 4:01:23 Ride Time, 12.00 Average Speed, 38.7 Maximum Speed

Despite good intentions, I didn't ride away from the Best Western until about 9:00. I hadn't seen much of Lexington the day before, so I spent about an hour riding around town.

The ride out of Lexington was very pleasant - mostly flat, along streams. Eventually the county road(s) I was on got close to the interstate, and I rode into Buchanan. This was a neat little town. I stopped at Ransone's for lunch. This is a combination pharmacy/diner/soda fountain; they apparently even do dry cleaning.

When I rode into Troutville, I saw Johnny, Henny and Doug at the city park. They were going to camp there for the night. The park looked nice, so I decided to do the same, and use my tent for the first time on the trip.

The park manager, Cecil, came over and talked to us for a while. He is a nice guy, who has seen many cyclists stay at the park over the years. A local Baptist church was having a cookout in the park (including home-made root beer), and the minister invited us to have some food. I got my tent set up and sat around watching all of the people in the park. Cecil told us this was the largest event the park had hosted so far this year.

I talked to my friend Tina on the cell phone, and when I told her I was in Troutville, she said her sister Debbie lived there - small world, etc. etc. Debbie and her daughter drove over with some food for me - that was very nice of them.

I got to bed in my tent about 10:30 or 11:00, and had a fitful night's sleep. The park is located very near a train track, and trains woke me up twice in the night. Still, I felt satisfied that I had finally used the camping gear after carrying it around for several days.

Washington and Lee University
Heart 0 Comment 0
Washington and Lee University
Heart 0 Comment 0
R. E. Lee Memorial Episcopal Church
Heart 0 Comment 0
R. E. Lee Memorial Episcopal Church
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical view on the ride leaving Lexington
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ok
Heart 0 Comment 0
Suspension bridge in Buchanan
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a cool place - a pharmacy, grill, soda fountain, a laundry service...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...candy, office supplies, ice cream...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Troutville City Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
People gathering for a church get-together at the park - I had my tent setup nearby
Heart 0 Comment 0
My tent (in the foreground)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Henny, Doug, Johnny, and Cecil the park manager
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not-too-serious volleyball game in progress
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was apparently the largest group to use the park this year
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 368 miles (592 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0