Sacramento - Across the USA in Stages - Stage 7 - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2023

Sacramento

7.8b

Sacramento! Old town, the capitol, Jerry Brown, the Governator, the Kings. I had the idea of looking around and seeing a good bit of the place on our day off. But my 7th flat tire of the trip called for immediate action.

Upon arising, I got busy fixing the flat inner tube and inspecting the tire. Finding nothing in the tire, the tube was patched and I was on my way, riding into Midtown, to the Trek shop.

Midtown Sacramento.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From the Discovery Park area, near where we were staying, I rode through the Rail Yards and Alkali Flats sections of the city. More ongoing construction had closed off some streets but I was able to maneuver through on H Street, to 20th, to K Street, and ultimately to 24th, where the shop is located. 

The Rail Yards area of Sacramento is undergoing renovations.
Heart 0 Comment 0

They took my bike in and gave me a time to return, in about 90 minutes. Having some time on my hands and not having had breakfast, I went for an early lunch at Tres Hermanas. Joel, the bartender, waited on me and served up a good meal of Quesadillas, beans, and rice. I also had nice conversations with a few other patrons.

The shop called me. Initially, they were going to put puncture resistant inner tubes in to replace the ones I had. But upon closer inspection of my rear rim, cracks were found running between several spoke insertion points. I went and viewed the problem personally. The cracks were visible, I hadn’t seen them before. But I had heard spoke pinging sounds and ticking sounds. In checking these noises out, I hadn’t seen anything out of the ordinary. These cracks in the rim explained what I had been hearing. The rear rim was replaced, the thicker tubes installed, and I was mobile again… sans sounds but still not able to shake the feeling that another flat tire was imminent.  

Bicycle Boulevard in Sacramento.
Heart 0 Comment 0

By then it was getting late. We had plans to meet some of my relatives for dinner. I set out to try and find the capitol building. It turned out to be nearby and I got a good photo as some government workers were going home for the day.

The California State Capitol Building.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Chuck and Lynn got to see Old Sacramento. My bike got fixed. We made it on time for dinner and had a nice evening. I guess I’ll have to come back sometime to see the rest of the place. It looks like a nice city and one that is bike friendly.

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 1,038 miles (1,670 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0