Fallon to Carson City - Across the USA in Stages - Stage 7 - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2023

Fallon to Carson City

7.5

Having a hot tub available last evening put the finishing touches on what was a relaxing day. When another beautiful morning came, it was time to leave Fallon and head to Carson City. We made our way over to Route 50, which had a bike lane and/or a wide shoulder for several miles out of town and to a point where the road split. Straight or slightly right went to Reno. A left was to Carson City (CC), which was where we needed to go. After making the left, the shoulder returned to the unusable status we had seen before reaching Fallon. Fortunately, most of the traffic went toward Reno.

Chuck rides on the wide shoulder of Highway 50, leaving out of Fallon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were a few very slight grades but the lion’s share of the terrain was flat. We made very good time, taking a brief break at around 17.5 miles.

Rest stop at 17.5 miles west of Fallon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We were at the entrance to the Lahontan Reservoir and recreation area. It was strange to see a large body of fresh water surrounded by a parched landscape. Things appeared to be even drier here than  they had been in the rest of the Nevada, through which we had passed during the preceding few days.

Lahontan Reservoir.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The water ran alongside the road for a while before giving way to the desert. It continued that way for several miles until we climbed a grade, rounded a bend, and a big valley spread out before us. In the distance was a town and another body of water. This was Silver Springs. We pedaled for it with renewed vigor even though the road shoulder completely vanished.

US-50 West, heading into Silver Springs, Nevada
Heart 0 Comment 0

We had also left Churchill County and entered Lyon County. Shortly after reaching the limits of Silver Springs, the road widened, had a great shoulder, and even had it marked as a bike lane! To what do we owe this great honor?

As we approached Silver Springs, there was a much better shoulder than what we had for the past 100 miles. The placement of the rumble strip was ideal for cycling, while still accomplishing the objective of assisting drivers who may stray.
Heart 1 Comment 0
US-50 West, heading into Stagecoach, Nevada.
Heart 0 Comment 0


Our goal from the first break was to reach the town of Stagecoach, with its intriguing name and indications of services on the map. The great road improvement continued to it and we met Lynn there. We were making very good time on this day. 

Our next planned stop was to be on the west side of Dayton. We were making very good time, once again. However, there was more traffic and the shoulder was strewn with varying accumulations of rocks, gravel, goat heads, debris, and glass. I was ahead of Chuck, for once, and was planning a strategic stop to get an action photo of him riding through this area. Then, my ride felt funny. I looked and my rear tire was flat again. Drat and Double Drat (I think that’s what I said).

Changing a flat tire near Dayton, Nevada.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Chuck came along and Lynn doubled back. Chuck was a huge help with changing the tire. I was grateful for both he and Lynn, today and all through this segment of the trip, thus far. 

The pre-stage 7 portion of this trip proved that I can be resourceful on my own but it sure is nice having others along to help, for communication, and camaraderie. Chuck and Lynn are seasoned travelers and great people to be with.

Dayton, Nevada.
Heart 0 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltThere sure are a lot of Daytons around! So I looked it up and found that in the USA, there are 20 cities/towns. Who knew? Well not me. I had seen about 10 or so just following cycle journals.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Dino AngeliciWow, 20 Daytons! I wouldn’t have guessed that. There is a Dayton, PA. It is a very small town in Armstrong County, western PA. The Dayton Flyers (Ohio) occasionally knock off a big school in the NCAA basketball tournament. I didn’t know Nevada had a Dayton ‘til we arrived.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
George HallI thought I recognized this photo, so I checked my 2017 journal and discovered I had taken the same photo! But mine was in the early morning light and yours is much better. And to add to that deja vu moment, shortly after I took the photo in 2017 one of my traveling companions had a flat tire - so beware of the Dayton area for flat tires!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Dino AngeliciGreat minds think alike ;-). Yes, the goat heads are bad there but the shoulders are strewn with all sorts of small rocks. So, who knows what really caused the flats. Chuck has not had any, so far. He is using Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires. I had them before and will likely return to them after this trip is over.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

We got rolling again as afternoon temperatures were heating up. So was the traffic. Dayton is where the first gold strike occurred in Nevada. They celebrate it along with the fact that the Pony Express came through also. Interestingly, Dayton, Ohio is called the gem city. Not sure if there is any connection.

Our destination in Carson City (CC) was less than 15 miles away, so the push was on to finish. I was once again worrying about my tire. The shoulder, heavily strewn with the aforementioned items, didn’t help matters. 

US-50 West, heading into Carson City.
Heart 0 Comment 0

  I crossed into CC at the top of a long hill. Traffic was heavy so I descended carefully. At Arrowhead Road, I turned off 50. Big relief. On the way to the lodging site, the ride felt funny again but the rear tire was holding. When I reached the end, my front tire was flat. That’s it for these tires. They do have more than 3000 miles on them. I located a local shop, spoke to the owner, and will be there in the morning.

After all of my flat tires…
Heart 0 Comment 0
The state capitol building.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We had a nice dinner and walked around the Capitol Complex in CC. We are glad to be here. (At least) I have bittersweet feelings about our impending exit of Nevada. It truly is a beautiful place but a hard place, all at the same time. I will miss it.

The Bike Smith is a good resource in CC.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wild horses right on the property where we are staying.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bike with its new rubber!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltAnd a Rutan design canard aircraft just above the seat! Rare sighting.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Dino AngeliciYou have more expertise on that than do I. Dumb luck on my part. Thanks Bill, for pointing it out. The place we are staying at is on the edge of an industrial park. The small airport is also adjacent to the park. Despite all of the industry, it is pretty quiet here.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

We took the day off in CC on 9/16/23. Chuck and I went to a shop called The Bike Smith, on N. Carson Street. Peter took my bike in and replaced both tires. I sprung for coffee and a dozen donuts for he and his fellow wrenches in the shop. I took the bike for a test ride and it seems to be doing very well. Hope I can stop with the flats for a while.  Peter said the goat heads are bad this year. Once we are over the Sierras, they should not be as prevalent. Stay tuned.

Goat heads that were stuck in the rubber of the bottom of my shoes. These could easily pierce a tire.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltHated them as a kid in Mojave, CA. Hope Peter's right about them being "not be as prevalent" on the other side of the hills...
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Dino AngeliciThey are nasty ! I too hope he is accurate. Thanks Bill.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 843 miles (1,357 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0