Day 8: To San Simeon State Beach - The California J 2009 - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2009

Day 8: To San Simeon State Beach

Today should be short and easy, so I didn't get on the road until 9:15. It was foggy, damp, and cool. There wasn't much of a view at first, but later in the morning the fog lifted so I could see down, but not up.

Below the fog.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Sometimes the road climbed above the fog layer and I could bask in the warm sunshine and see the mountains. I had breakfast #2 at the Gorda cafe. $20 for an omelet, hash browns, and hot tea. They said today is their 4th consecutive foggy day.

Above the fog.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWhen I biked on the West Coast, the one thing that was a godsend was the fleece jacket I had bought at the beginning. It helped keep me warm on those cold foggy days!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
In and out of the fog.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped and walked the paths at Ragged Point. It's an upscale motel/restaurant on a point with superb views.

Telephoto view from Ragged Point.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wide view from Ragged Point.
Heart 1 Comment 0
For several miles the shoulder was unusable because of blackberries, tall grass, and bushes that need to be mowed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I left the fog behind when descending out of Big Sur into much flatter terrain. The last 15 miles to San Simeon is mostly flat with nearly continuous ocean views and a tailwind.

Suddenly the terrain gets MUCH flatter.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sea lions.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltI always enjoyed hearing the barking of the sea lions. :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Hearst castle.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltOne of the sights I never went to is the Hearst Castle...
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesTo Charmaine RuppoltI've never been there either. Next time I drive the coast...
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I took a very long stop and walked 2 miles at William Randolph Hearst state beach. It was sunny, not very windy, with temperature in the low 70's. When touring the coast I like to walk barefoot on a beach every day if possible.

Green stone at William Randolph Hearst state beach.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived at San Simeon state beach at 4:30. The hiker/biker site was only $2, but it was crowded and only 50 feet away from the highway. Probably the worst hiker/biker site I've ever seen. At least the sun was shining. Late in the evening a recumbent cyclist pedaled in on a HP Velotechnik Streetmachine.

San Simeon state beach.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The distance and average speed indicate that I was on the bike less than 4 hours today. Touring is more fun when you're not in a hurry.

Distance: 39.4 mi (63 km)

Climbing: 2328 ft (705 m)

Average speed: 10.1 mph (16.2 km/h)

Max speed: 38 mph (61 km/h)

Hiking: 2 mi (3.2 km)

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 307 miles (494 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltAgree that touring is more fun when you're not in a hurry. :) :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago